The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upgrading CentOS 5 to 6

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Hideki, May 30, 2015.

Tags:
  1. Hideki

    Hideki Registered

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Phoenix
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Greetings, long time owner of Cpanel, I've been running WHM/Cpanel on my VPS since 2012.

    I currently run Centos 5.0 and have multiple domains hosted on my box. However due to recent events, I"m unable to get specific packages installed due to being unable to find older releases ( i.e ffmpeg will not work despite 20+ hours of attempting different tutorials, discussions and automated installs )

    Everyone is suggesting I upgrade to Centos 6.0

    However After reading up on it, I'm finding that WHM/Cpanel does not fully support that type of upgrade as it can definitely cause issues.

    The majority of you state to migrate your WHM info/accounts to an alternate server.

    However since I have no other server to migrate too other than offline, while I'l format my current online server and reinstall 6.0 my question to everyone here is:

    What is the best course of action for me to take? Currently I have about 30gb of data on my site.
    I run forum sites, and comic sites, for both me and my wife, and friends.

    Any information is greatly appreciated, as I really want to get this done and out of the way.

    Also I'm running 5.0 32bit as opposed to 64 bit however I am tempted to upgrade to it since the CPU is 64bit however I'm only running 3gb of Ram on my VPS, so unsure if it would be worthwhile or just remain on 32.
     
    thu99 likes this.
  2. big-pete

    big-pete Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I'd be interested in knowing this aswell as I'm in the same situation with my dedicated server.
     
    thu99 and Hideki like this.
  3. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    for the vps: if you have room backup your accounts locally and ask your provider for some assistance to create a new server and mount your old drive partition as old to your new VPS (if openvz old private folder to the new server) Then reinstall and restore from backup . If they are not willing to help you out then your only recourse is to move the backups somewhere else and rsync them back. Or hire someone to do it for you.

    For the Dedicated server: I have no idea how your setup is but same applies move your backups somewhere else and rsync them back. If you currently have a backup drive do a fresh backup and reimge your server excluding the backup drive.
     
  4. Hideki

    Hideki Registered

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Phoenix
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Appreciate the response, Do you have tutorials on the backup process you can link to for accounts? I've migrated Cpanel sites before so I'm familiar w/ that, however for everything else I'd want to make sure I'm not missing anything WHM wise. Since I do run multiple domains from my VPS. The box itself also serves as the DNS/Nameserver.

    Am I able to back it up offline?
     
  5. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    • home >> Backup Configuration
    weather you want to use the legacy system or the new it make no difference
    then re image your server upload your backups to the /backup folder in the appropriate place.
    if you have enough disk space on your vps to store the local backups then restore multiple backups.
     
  6. Hideki

    Hideki Registered

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Phoenix
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner

    That's it ? Nothing else? That seems too simple, which is why I wanted to ensure.

    So I backup as 1 giant config as in WHM config + domain info for all domains created.
    Then Cpanel backups individually for the domains themselves?

    I just want to make sure I'm understanding this clearly.

    After which when I reinstall WHM/Cpanel, I restore the config which will auto populate all the data, then restart services, after which log into each Cpanel and reupload the data/databases?
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page