The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upgrading from Plesk to cPanel problem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by me2, May 2, 2003.

  1. me2

    me2 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I have Plesk server and I just finsh from installing cPanel on my server:

    # cd /home
    # wget http://layer1.cpanel.net/lastest
    # sh lastest

    after that all the sites on the server not work, I can not add any new sites, all things are not work

    can any body tell me what is the problem?
     
  2. shaun

    shaun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Clemente, Ca
    you cant upgrade a plesk server to cpanel... only ensime to cpanel works...

    You would have to package the accounts first, install cpanel and then restore them...
     
  3. me2

    me2 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am new,

    can you tell me how can i do that step by step PLZ?
     
  4. shaun

    shaun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Clemente, Ca
    This requires you to have 2 servers.

    Note on that: You might be able to do it with one machine! You'd have to run the plesk account packager and package all the accounts then remove all plesks crap, install cpanel, and then do a restore... Keep in mind this is a idea. I dont see why it wouldnt work, but i've never try'd this before.


    Theirs no guarantee this switch ether way will be 100%. I've used hte plesk account transfer utility before and it has not backed up things like databases and email box's some times.


    How many accounts are on this machine? If you want to try some things let me know, give me a IM or email. Shaun2222 or shaun@ndchost.com i'd like to see if this works.
     
  5. me2

    me2 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    this is new server , thats mean i don't nead another server ..

    my Q. now .. how can i remove pleak totaly from the sever?
     
  6. me2

    me2 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I removed Plesk by using:

    rpm -e psa

    and the problem still not solved :(

    the new sites not work

    can you help?
     
  7. shaun

    shaun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Clemente, Ca
    plesk installs alot of rpms... My recommendation, reinstall the server with redhat 7.3 (server install) and then install cpanel. If you cant do that then you need to remove all the plesk rpms and reinstall cpanel.

    I cant give too much help since i cannot see whats happening inside the box.
     
Loading...

Share This Page