The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upgrading From VPS to Server

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by WEB-PROS, Nov 30, 2006.

  1. WEB-PROS

    WEB-PROS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I currently have a VPS hosted by company ****, i am in a few days time buying a dedicated server, i am then going to setup a VPS on this server.

    However i want to move all accounts from the old VPS to the new VPS on my own server, i was thinking about just using the inbuilt WHM account moving feature, however i am using Apache 2 (Edge Build). I also ill be using (Edge Build) Apache 2 on the new server.

    Will WHM account moving feature still work fully and move all accounts over correctly and create the correct http.conf entries?

    Any ideas would be apriciated.

    Thanks in Advance
     
  2. HelloAdam

    HelloAdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey,

    Well when trasfering accounts, I suggest that you just transfer accounts. You don't need to worry about install Apache and other stuff. Why? What if you have a PHP module thats installed on one server and not the other? Your in trouble and so on.

    Its best to config. the new server way before you are going to start to trasnfer accounts, like install Apache, PHP, make sure MySQL is the same on the old server and what not. You should also config. your new server with security in mind, (RootKit + SSH 2 + nonexe on tmp folder + apf + BFD, etc)

    Then once you have all that, just simply transfer the accounts using root access and SSH from one server to another.

    You can view that tutorial in my sig...

    From,
    Adam
     
  3. WEB-PROS

    WEB-PROS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok thanks

    One thing my VPS has a 25Gb harddrive is at the moment uses 68%, one problem i can see is not having enough space to do it your way, i think i will just opt ot moving the accounts using WHM as it creates each accounts Backup Individualy.

    Except if you can see any other way.

    Thanks for your help so far.
     
  4. HelloAdam

    HelloAdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey,

    Well what type of backup settings do you have on your current VPS server? Is it Incremental backup, or a tar of each account? Also, using 68% of your hard drive doesn't mean that the /home folder is that big. I'm sure you have more then enough room to tar up all the accounts.

    Ethier way if you are using Incremental backup or a tar of each account you can still put them on your new server. Its just getting them across is the tricky part.

    Let me know how it turns out...

    From,
    Adam
     
  5. WEB-PROS

    WEB-PROS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks

    I will see how it goes and keep you updated.
     
Loading...

Share This Page