The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

upgrading kernel RH 9.0

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by B12Org, Jun 6, 2005.

  1. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hey guys, I downloaded and installed the latest kernel for my 9.0 box. I then rebooted - rpm -qa | grep kernel Shows:

    kernel-2.4.20-20.9
    kernel-2.4.20-31.9

    uname -r shows:
    2.4.20-20.9

    uname -a shows:
    Linux server.hostname 2.4.20-20.9 #1 Mon Aug 18 11:45:58 EDT 2003 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux

    Question is how do I get it to boot to the new kernal? I am not sure what boot loader I am using - I tried looking at /etc/grub.conf and it is empty. I tried looking at /etc/lilo.conf and it too was empty.

    I tried searching these forums but didnt find too much to help since both the above files are empty - so I dont know which one the server uses.

    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    If you wish to find out which bootloader is used, as root do:
    dd if=/dev/hda bs=512 count=1 2>&1 | grep GRUB
    or
    dd if=/dev/hda bs=512 count=1 2>&1 | grep LILO

    If it comes up with "Binary file (standard input) matches" then you have that bootloader installed
     
  3. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    oops forgot to mention the /hda in the comand below put your hard drive name in as not all are configured the same see your /etc/fstab
     
  4. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    hmm, the /etc/fstab file shows I have hda2 - If I sub hda2 in neither of the two commands you mentioned return anything. If I leave it the way you had it - grub returns a match - but all the config files are completely empty. How could that be with 2 kernels installed?
     
  5. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    hda is correct

    you have a grub loader

    /etc/grub.conf
    /boot/grub/grub.conf

    are you sure your logged into root?
     
    #5 dalem, Jun 6, 2005
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2005
  6. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yeah, once I login I immediately su - so I am sure I am logged in as root yes.
     
  7. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    /boot/grub/grub.conf
     
  8. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
  9. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for the help so far - I check the files, but both of those files are empty - is there somewhere else it could be listed?
     
Loading...

Share This Page