The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upgrading to the latest edge (whm11) is giving error 500 on apache

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by a66fm, Aug 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. a66fm

    a66fm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Greece
    i'm using centos 4.3 and when i upgrade to the latest edge (whm11) i get error 500 on all sites and no error is getting logged.
    Is anyone having the same issue?
     
  2. cinusik

    cinusik Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I had almost the same as this update messed up a http.conf file a little.
    For me it was line AddModule mod_php5.c commented out so php stops working right after upcp. Probably the same happened to you, or maybe you have commented other line or you have it messed up in other way.
     
  3. appleboy

    appleboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    wierd i updated to edge:

    WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 11.0-E484
    FreeBSD 5.5-STABLE i386 - WHM X v3.1.0

    and get this:

    Unsupported Version You are running an old version of cPanel that is no longer supported. You can upgrade to the latest version at no cost by clicking the link below:
    Please Click Here to Upgrade


    Updated to Edge: 4:20pm PDT
     
  4. carluk

    carluk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    edge is using the new easyapache with apache 2 being default and is nice a buggy with php not working (from my last try).
     
  5. a66fm

    a66fm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Greece
    i tried for almost an hour to rebuild apache (from ssh) using the "new" default (ver2), went back to apache 1.36 tried all the default rebuild options, i even tried the "failsafe" one, i also thought of disabling suexec but the only thing that did work was falling back to the current build and rebuilding apache again
     
  6. cix

    cix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I got some different problem:

    I´ve updated my CPANEL RELEASE to EDGE and ran easyapache.

    So this is what I got after compiling the new apache 2.0.x:

    You are currently running Apache 2.0.59

    Step 1) Set the Apache version you want to build and run
    1.3.37
    Current Selection 2.0.59
    2.2.3

    but on Apache Server Status, shows:

    Server Version: Apache/1.3.37 (Unix) mod_auth_passthrough/1.8 mod_bwlimited/1.4 mod_log_bytes/1.2 mod_ssl/2.8.28 OpenSSL/0.9.7a PHP-CGI/0.1b
    Server Built: Aug 15 2006 14:33:50


    So I´ve needed to recompile, after that, apache 2.0.x works.
     
  7. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just a side note ....

    I strongly recommend that anyone running mod_security or other extra modules
    that you disable and / or remove those modules prior to trying to make the
    upgrade jump up to Apache2. Will make your life a lot easier.
     
  8. MN-Robert

    MN-Robert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    11 edge is sh*t, it's not worthy of edge.
     
  9. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    If you don't want the hassles then you should not be running EDGE or CURRENT. IF you do run them, then you should let cPanel know of any problems by using bugzilla. Otherwise, you should be using STABLE or RELEASE if you don't want the hassles of the newer trees.
     
  10. BPrintz

    BPrintz Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    What's the command to downgrade your current version of CPanel - I just want to get rid of this problem.
     
  11. Curious Too

    Curious Too Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Downgrading won't work, I already tried that. If you just need to get Apache going again, uncomment the add_module line for php4 in the httpd.conf file. For some reason the latest edge comments out that line.
     
  12. BPrintz

    BPrintz Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks I'll give it a go... but just for reference how do I downgrade CPanel to stable?
     
  13. MN-Robert

    MN-Robert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    We use it on a few test servers, I honestly can't believe they have released cpanel 11 in edge. So bug riddled. It's bullsh*t
     
  14. a66fm

    a66fm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Greece
    it has worked for me 3-4 times in a row so it must work for you.
    just select from whm>Update Config select "current" or "RELEASE" and do a
    from ssh.

    i managed to have apache 2.0.59 working but i culd not enable exif and mod security
     
  15. Curious Too

    Curious Too Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I force downloaded to current and still received the error message in whm and php still did not work. I am ignoring the error message for now and had to uncomment the add_module statement in httpd.conf in order to get php working again.
     
  16. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    CURRENT is effectively at the same level as EDGE so you won't see much difference. As I said, you'll have to go to STABLE or RELEASE.
     
  17. carluk

    carluk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Seriously get a clue. If you have any problems submit the bug report to cpanel rather than whine on these forums saying rubbish like the above. If it was either stable or release I might understand but it's edge.


    To to go to stable/release just edit the update type via WHM or edit the /etc/cpupdate.conf file and replace the edge text with release, or remove it completely so it's just manual for stable. Then
    Code:
     /scripts/upcp 
     
  18. jamesbond

    jamesbond Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I thought the BETA version was supposed to be used for bug reporting ;)
     
  19. MN-Robert

    MN-Robert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Not sure why your attacking me Carl. We've raised many bug reports, etc over the years and some still remain unresolved after a year. Edge is to be tested, it's how they get to stable. Hey look, you even agree with me:

    http://forums.cpanel.net/showpost.php?p=240543&postcount=17

    I've given up submitting tickets/bug reports to cpanel because they don't get resolved in a timely manner. You should know that's why we are looking at other panels. Can someone tell me what cpanel have done in the last 12 months. I mean seriously, apache2 is still crippled (even after the farce of 15 different eta's) they are re-writing the api etc etc for cpanel but apart from that what has been done? 1700 odd bugs still in bugzilla. Why are they working on adding game servers, 3rd party application installers and other new features when the existing features don't work correctly.

    It's a shame, but cpanel and it's related issues cause 90% of the tickets we get in our system. If a reseller/you delete a dns zone but not the account it disappears from the list and it needs system admin intervention to fix it. I could probably document 50 problems off the top of my head.

    --

    If Chripy or another mod wishes to spilt this I would appreciate it. I was looking for honest answers three months ago when I posted this: http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=53143 but it seems nothing is being done. Most software has a timeline/roadmap on where it will be in x months or x years. So my question to Nick/Dan is where do you see cpanel at the end of 2007?
     
    #19 MN-Robert, Aug 24, 2006
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2006
  20. carluk

    carluk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sorry if you cannot handle a different opinion from yours but I do not agree with your statements with regards to not believing they released edge and it happens to be bug riddled. The only major bug I have come across so far which wasn't in a previous build is the easyapache problems. I do not agree with your assessment of my agreeing with your statement either, you should infact compare that statement you quoted with yours and you shall see the differences between moaning about a buggy edge release (which is just above beta in the cpanel tree), and posting in a thread asking what new features etc we'd like and simply requesting some of the bugs in the tracker be fixed. "Edge is to be tested" and "I cant believe they released 11 in edge, as it's riddled with bugs" - nice slight contradiction there.

    </Unsubscribed>
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page