The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upgrading - v10 to v11

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by blackice, May 6, 2007.

  1. blackice

    blackice Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Oxfordshire UK
    Hi,

    I'm looking at upgrading a server using:
    PHP 4.4.6
    MySQL 4.0.27-max
    Apache 1.3.3.6/7

    To cPanel 11, MySQL5, Apache2, etc.


    What will go wrong? I'm thinking MySQL will probably not like being upgraded, what with it's old password stuff. Does WHM handle upgrading MySQL data automatically during the upgrade proccess, or will I need to upgrade it all beforehand?

    I don't think there'll be many problems apart from MySQL- most apps on the box are forum apps like vBulletin and phpBB.


    Any advice (Apart from make stonking great big backups every 10 seconds)?
     
  2. logikstudios

    logikstudios Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would like to know this information aswell. Uprgrading to CP11 is so tempting. I just want to make sure that CP11 wont have any big hidden suprisses.

    Thanks,
     
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Someone correct me if I'm wrong but upgrading to cPanel 11 CURRENT can be done pretty easy. That's separate from upgrading Apache and MySQL. Upgrading those should probably only be done after catching up on these forums with other threads on the topic already posted.

    I think those other threads hold your answers.
     
  4. zuweb

    zuweb Registered

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I upgraded to CP11, and my sistems was crashed 2 days without email and CP.
     
  5. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Yes, that's correct. We have updated serveral servers to v11 using the Current edition without any problem.
     
  6. blackice

    blackice Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Oxfordshire UK
    Ok,

    Updating v10 to v11 went just fine, no problems there.

    Set about updating MySQL to 5. Did a full database dump to a backup and made a copy to another server, and switched it to 5 in the config manager. It said it was updating in the background- a quick ps faux | grep mysql confirmed that it was running mysqlup.

    Once that was done, things started to go a bit tits-up. It finished but everything was still using 4.0.27-max, so I did an apache restart. Got the phpmysql error so went to recompile apache.
    Upon performing /scripts/easyapache, it got to "Checking update...." and got no further.

    Now the server has stopped responding and I'm waiting on a restart at the datacenter.

    Any thoughts? It's not a heavily loaded box, it's got about 1.4 gigs of SQL data, about 20 accounts, quite a few of which are hardly ever used.

    Upgrading from:
    MySQL 4.0.27-max
    Apache 1.3.3.7
    cPanel/WHM 10.8 (RELEASE)

    Upgrade to:
    MySQL 5.0.27 (Failed)
    Apache 2 (Can't get to)
    cPanel/WHM 11 (CURRENT) (Worked)
     
  7. rone

    rone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Apache 2 with easyapache2 is dropped by cPanel so you don't must use it to upgrade apache. Just wait a little longer when cPanel comes with easyapache3 to upgrade it to apache2 it maybe comes available at the end of this month.

    If you did follow this txt in the Tweaksettings: MySQL Version to use (you must run Software/Update Server Software (or /scripts/mysqlup) for this to take affect. You should then run buildapache/easyapache after changing this option. You may also need to run /scripts/perlinstaller --force Bundle::DBD::mysql. Updating from a previous version of MySQL to a later version is not automatically reversable. You should backup your databases if you think you might wish to downgrade in the future.

    Then is should be going right.
     
  8. abubin

    abubin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    i also want to know about upgrading from v10 to v11.

    Does it upgrade automatically with /scripts/upcp?

    Is it currently in cpanel Release tree?

    What's the benefit of going to v11? Only theme change?
     
  9. rone

    rone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The v11 is now available in CURRENT TREE so if you wan't upgrade to v11 goto: WHM --> Server Configuration --> Update Config and set it to the CURRENT TREE and run /scripts/upcp

    For all the info about v11 I advice you to goto: http://www.cpanel.net/products/cPanelandWHM/linux/cpanel11/index.html

    v11 is not only a Theme change but much much more in WHM and cPanel.
     
  10. logikstudios

    logikstudios Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So really there is no problem upgrading to CPanel 11, its the minor things that cause the problems eg, MySQL 5. I already run MySQL 5 so i shouldn't have any trouble. I might give it a week, see what cpanel release in that time. I will also weight untill EasyApache 3 comes up to upgrade to apache 2

    Thanks,
     
    #10 logikstudios, May 7, 2007
    Last edited: May 7, 2007
  11. rone

    rone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you are running mySQL 4 or 5 Apache 1.3 or 2 it realy doesn't matter you can just save upgrade to version v11. The version of mySQL and Apache has nothing to do with it. Just first upgrade to v11 and then upgrade to your needs your mySQL or Apache. If one of those two fails it also is noth a bug in v11.
     
  12. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    When upgrading from MySQL 4.0.x to 4.1, 5.0 or newer be prepared for problems with character sets. If all the SQL data is in latin1, you shouldn't have any problems, but if not, be prepared for a few support calls from your clients.


    Data migration/conversion is best handled by the data owner, rather than a cpanel automated script. Thus while it will upgrade to MySQL 5, if you instruct it to do so, it won't do anythign about the data. YOu'll need to address any issues due to changes in MySQL internals. Of course, our support team is always available to help you in these transitions.

    Backups, backups, backups. Seems you already know the mantra.
     
  13. eddy2099

    eddy2099 Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've upgraded to the Current v11 and it appears that I suddenly stopped receiving emails and Cpanel/WHM seems to stop at times. I decided to move back to the Release v10 as it seems a lot more stable. Hopefully it is just me and my VPS.
     
  14. bsasninja

    bsasninja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I think we should wait until release and stable versions be released.
    I dont trust in Current and Edge versions.

    By the way, the WHM is the same in Cpanel 11 or the interface looks different? I saw Cpanel 11 (the x3) but I didnt see if whm is different too.

    Thanks.
     
  15. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The WHM interface has changed. Aside from the new feature entries, the cleaned up various parts o fthe interface, for example, all the data fields in Tweak Settings are on one side, instead of a mixture between left and right. Some ajax was introduced in places, sparingly.
     
  16. bsasninja

    bsasninja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cpanelkenneth: does cpanel v11 runs on a centos 4.4 server?
     
  17. logikstudios

    logikstudios Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    of course it does.

    Thanks,
     
  18. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes it does.
     
  19. bsasninja

    bsasninja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks!

    1) do you have scheduled when it will officialy supports centos 5 ? more or less

    2) Right now im using apache 1.3.x and mysql 4.1/php 4.4.6. Upgrading to cpanel 11 will kepp those settings intact or will upgrade to newer versions?
     
    #19 bsasninja, May 7, 2007
    Last edited: May 7, 2007
  20. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Upgrading to cPanel 11 will not force you to upgrade to newer versions in your scenario.
     
    #20 cPanelDavidG, May 7, 2007
    Last edited: May 7, 2007
Loading...

Share This Page