The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upload a new PDF

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Volta, Jul 13, 2015.

  1. Volta

    Volta Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bristol
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hello,

    I have not really got any experience with maintaining websites. I had one built for me by a friend who is now travelling and I need to change the PDF on my site.

    The site is simple, just one landing page, with a button linking to a PDF that I would like to change weekly. The PDF is just called stocklist.pdf and my friend said that all I needed to do was give the new one the same name, delete the old one on the site, and upload the new one.

    I have done this, but the old list is still showing on the website rather than the new one.

    Can anyone suggest a way to have the new one visible?

    Thanks

    Dom
     
    #1 Volta, Jul 13, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 13, 2015
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,453
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    If he coded the page to use a specific URL to get to the file, replacing the file should be all you needed to do.
    You might check that you did overwrite the old file properly with the same exact name.
     
  3. Volta

    Volta Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bristol
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I'm assuming I didn't do the overwrite correctly. The name is correct, would you mind letting me know the correct overwrite procedure?
     
  4. Volta

    Volta Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bristol
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    The first time I tried uploading the new file, I didn't notice the overwrite tick box, and I used a capital letter instead of a small letter at the start of the file name. I have remedied this now but it still hasn't changed the file on the website. Is there anything else I need to do for the file to be switched?
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,453
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Spelling must be exact of course.
    Have you tried another browser?
    Are you sure you're replacing the correct file?
     
  6. Volta

    Volta Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bristol
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thank you so much!! Just using a different browser seems to have done it.
     
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,453
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Browser cache needs cleared then. (in the other browser) ;)
     
Loading...

Share This Page