The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upload new website design

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by paulagrady, Feb 18, 2015.

  1. paulagrady

    paulagrady Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello:

    I am redesigning a client's existing website using Sea Monkey. How and where do I upload my new design, replacing the old one, and where can I store the old one so that the new one will be visible to the public?

    Thank you.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,449
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Depending on the client, you might want to send them the files so that they can upload it and test it out. Giving anyone access to the accounts file system is generally a bad idea.

    What you might do is ask the client to create an Addon FTP account for you. With that, you could upload to the directory you'll have access to. For example, domain.com/stage/

    That way you have both, domain.com and domain.com/stage/ visible.
     
  3. paulagrady

    paulagrady Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~`

    Thank you. The client is not familiar at all with web design or using the cpanel, so he
    gave me access.

    Should I create the Addon FTP account myself, or would this be unnecessary since I already have access?
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,449
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Indeed, unneeded. Since you already have access, you could create the /stage/ directory of course, no Addon FTP account needed. You might also like to lock down the /stage/ with Password Protection.
     
  5. paulagrady

    paulagrady Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks so much! I'll try that.
     
Loading...

Share This Page