The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Uploaded HTML file, it won't publish when web directory is accessed

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by testipop, Oct 22, 2010.

1. testipop

testipop Registered

Hi!

I've tried looking this up through the FAQ and a search through the forums and I've tried a couple of suggestions and I still can't figure out what I'm doing wrong.

The problem I'm facing is, I've uploaded a HTML file (named index.html) into a directory, eg: website.com/test/

When I try and access the URL via the browser, the page doesn't load. Instead, I am shown the error page.

I have basic HTML and server knowledge and far as I know, I think I'm doing things correctly but I'm stumped.

What I've noted from the forums and applied is:

1) Accessing the files through public_html directory
    2) Ensured the file and folder permissions are 644
    3) I've also tested it out by uploading an image in that directory
    4) I've tried both index.html and index.php

Pretty sure it's just a really minor step I'm missing, any help or suggestions would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

2. uzumaki_1

uzumaki_1 Registered

Sorry if you thought this was a solution message to your problem but i've just got some webspace through UK2.net (if you've heard of them) and i've uploaded my portfolio via the public_html folder (like you). Its contains index.html, index.swf and AC_RunActiveContent.js. I used tripod before and uploaded the same three files and it worked like a charm. When I go to my web domain to see the website then it just says: This Domain Name has been registered by a customer of UK2. If anyone could help here as well it would be great !!!!

3. Infopro

Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter: