The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Uploading index.html to public_html does nothing

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by allenperks, Feb 27, 2013.

  1. allenperks

    allenperks Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hey,

    I'm completely new to website making and would like to know how to correct this situation in layman's terms.

    Here is a timeline of everything I've done:

    1) Created .html file "index.html" in Komodo Edit on my Macintosh (Version 10.6.8) (this is my file: /http://www.sendspace.com/file/72bene)
    2) Purchased the domain name "nickelbackfansite.com" off Namecheap.com, which I have set to expire next year unless I renew it
    3) Purchased the Value Shared Hosting plan off Namecheap, received a hosting welcome guide with all login information for the cpanel.
    4) Log in to the cpanel and go to file manager
    5) Upload index.html to public_html
    6) BUT MY SITE STILL LOOKS LIKE THIS, as if I hadn't uploaded a thing: /http://www.nickelbackfansite.com/

    Is there something I missed? What's the problem? How do I get index.html to show when my site is loaded up? Thanks in advance!
     
  2. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You didn't change domain's name servers.
    Check the welcome guide you got after you purchased the hosting plan, the info must be there.
     
  3. crazyaboutlinux

    crazyaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    if there any other index file is exist just rename it, and check it should work. and if the issue is still persist contact namecheap.com for support.
     
  4. allenperks

    allenperks Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I tried accessing http://dns1.namecheaphosting.com/ and http://dns2.namecheaphosting.com/ from the welcome guide, but neither could load. I get a connection timeout notification from my browser because the serve is taking too long.

    The only things in public_html are the folder "cgi-bin" and my index.html file.
     
  5. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You must change your domain's name servers to:
    dns1.namecheaphosting.com
    and
    dns2.namecheaphosting.com
     
  6. allenperks

    allenperks Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    How do I do this?
     
  7. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page