The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Uploading my site through CPanel?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sfpmaco, Mar 24, 2010.

  1. sfpmaco

    sfpmaco Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi Everyone,
    I have a quick question,
    I have a temp page on my site Index of /
    South Florida Porperty Management Association.

    now my question is:
    I have uploaded the Pic,file (Banner)
    and the file for the temp contents. page.
    I am starting with this to learn. only 1page and a pic.

    I have uploaded them directly to the www folder and the public folders.

    when i type in my url sfpma.com it doesnt say (South Florida Property Management Association ) but instead it says Index/ but the url in green under the word index does read Index of /
    try typing the site name, sfpma.com, in your comp and you will see that my files are displayed instead of taking me to the sfpma temp page directly. ( when im ready to upload my entire flash site i dont want the web to see all my files only my site?

    what is the proper way to set up the name of my company for uploading to my site to the web.?

    i have tried uploading to my root folder, setting up a index.home folder and i am now making a folder South Florida Property Management Association and then uploadint the 2 files in there then uplosding this folder to the web. but it still showes the files on the web?

    Thanks Frankie (sfpmaco.)
     
  2. cpanelinfoseeker

    cpanelinfoseeker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NE Illinois
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I just went to your site, there are no files in the directory. Upload to your "public_html" folder and they should show.

    Ron
     
  3. sfpmaco

    sfpmaco Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    re loaded the files

    Ron i just Reloaded the files in my public folder and www.

    now you will see what i am talking about, when i type in the URL: sfpma.com or www.sfpma.com
    On the Web it says index of/ i really want it to read South Florida Property Management Association.

    I eventually start adding the site info to all the search engines.
     
    #3 sfpmaco, Mar 24, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2010
  4. DirectHorizon

    DirectHorizon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Rename the file

    Rename the file HOLD PAGE SFPMA 2 (ON THE WEB 2010 ).htm
    to index.htm

    Then when you go to Index of / your page will show up..

    In order for the main page to show up you have to have a index file in there.
     
  5. cpanelinfoseeker

    cpanelinfoseeker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NE Illinois
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    ok, the files are showing, just rename "HOLD PAGE SFPMA 2 (ON THE WEB 2010 ).htm" to "index.htm" and it will show as the main page.

    Ron
     
  6. sfpmaco

    sfpmaco Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The renaming of the file worked great.

    Now i did rename the file index.htm and have placed it in the public/htm and the www folders

    I do have another Question when i go to my site and type in sfpma.com the page comes up it reads "index/" is there a way to have it read South Florida Property Management Association ?

    I know to hit index but others wont know to find the site.

    I am getting this down to a science now, my official site should be finished before months end. i recieved the thread for your company from the bottem of your replay tio me i will check it out.
    Ron thanks again for your help.
     
  7. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your page is working now but looks horrible (under Firefox at least)

    I am seeing mixed fonts and some overlapping text in places
     
  8. sfpmaco

    sfpmaco Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ie working great.

    I will check to see if there is something wrong,
    I opened it and dont see anything wrong> temp page but nothing like u said.
    text is ok, no formatting errors.
     
Loading...

Share This Page