The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Urchin 5.5 Permissions Problem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by eyckzo, Dec 20, 2003.

  1. eyckzo

    eyckzo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Providence, RI USA
    I just upgraded from Urchin 5.0r2 to 5.5 and now I am getting the following error message when going to view my reports from inside CPanel:

    Urchin CGI Report. Error Encountered (1006). No Permission to view Report.

    Any assistance would be greatly appriciated. I will also submit a trouble ticket on this using my WHM area.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: n/a
     
  2. eyckzo

    eyckzo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Providence, RI USA
    any ideas anyone?

    *poke* *poke*

    :)
     
  3. Devil Inside

    Devil Inside Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    have you tried a help ticket at urchin?

    I think this falls under their free support...
     
  4. eyckzo

    eyckzo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Providence, RI USA
    yes, my provider submitted one.
     
  5. zfrank

    zfrank Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I´ve the same problem
    new dual xeon
    yesterday urchin 5.5 installed, not working
     
  6. mooony

    mooony Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I got the same error with the new version. I tried to change the ownership of the tmp/urchin directory but it only gave me a empty page but no error.

    Ronald
     
  7. cyberspirit

    cyberspirit BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    here is the solution:
    make sure the apache/domlogs directory is world readable and all files in domlogs are readable for world as well.
    Urchin should be installed as user and group nobody.
    If not stop both Urchin serives nd edit the conf files under urchin/var (both of them).
    The go into WHM and change the permission setup for the log files
     
  8. ricoche

    ricoche Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Did this happen to work for everyone? I am still getting this error even after making the changes. I'll go back and verify, but I was just curious is people are still having a problem or if this issue has been solved.

    Thanks.
     
    #8 ricoche, Dec 26, 2003
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2003
  9. zfrank

    zfrank Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    For me it isn´t working
    I get always the error :(
     
  10. mooony

    mooony Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I am still getting this error. I have tried everything but I am still getting No Permission to view Report.

    Has anybody open a support ticket with cpanel?

    Thanks
    Ronald
     
  11. jcallery

    jcallery Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I also tried everything, and have still recieved the same error message.

    One thing I do know, is that it has to do with the individual Urchin installations that are made within each cPanel account in the /home directory.

    Even after getting so pissed off to the point where I deleted the entire Urchin installation in the /usr/local/ directory, I still recieved the error message.

    Maybe the "CGI" script that is being used by cPanel to access the newest version of Urchin needs to be updated in order to meet the access requirements in version 5.5.
     
  12. ricoche

    ricoche Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well I remember when 5.0 came out there was a problem with the relation between Urchin and CPanel. After a short period of time, Cpanel correct the issue and we were able to use Urchin 5.0. Now it looks like the similar thing has happened.

    In fact if I am correct, I believe the error we are getting was the same one back then.

    Perhaps we are all missing something here, but it just could be that cpanel needs a little adjusting in order for this to work. Hopefully an update is in the works.
     
  13. mooony

    mooony Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I opened a support ticket but I guess we will not be getting support from cpanel.

    Here is the reply form cpanel:

    If anybody finds a way on how to reslove this problem please post it.

    I really need to get this working

    Thanks

    Ronald
     
  14. projectandrew

    projectandrew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Can someone try the following command on their own system if you have Urchin 5.1 installed (i.e. not Urchin 5.5):

    /scripts/runweblogs

    I am interested in the Urchin output - on my system with 5.5 installed, I get something like:

    ------------------------------------------------------
    Urchin 5.5.00 (redhat72) starting: 20040102 18:11:12
    ------------------------------------------------------
    Processing profile: domain.com

    [18:11:12] Logfile: /usr/local/apache/domlogs/domain.com
    data lines: 0 (0%) (skipping 45936 bytes)
    data lines: 0 (0%) (skipping 15835 bytes)
    data lines: 1 (100%)
    data hits: 1
    data proc: 167.00 B in 00:00:00 (0.000 MB/sec)
    data range: 2004-01-02 18:11 (GMT) - 2004-01-02 18:11 (GMT)

    [18:11:12] Backing up database files for 200401: /home/domain1/tmp/urchin/data/reports/domain.com/200401-backup-20040102181112.zip


    ERROR: (7052-323-2009) Unable to rename file
    DETAIL: No such file or directory


    ------------------------------------------------------
    Urchin 5.5.00 (redhat72) finishing: 20040102 18:11:12
    ------------------------------------------------------

    I was just interested to see if the error messages also appear on your version - I am playing to see if there is some way to get around this permissions problem...
     
    #14 projectandrew, Jan 2, 2004
    Last edited: May 20, 2004
  15. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Earth
    I am having this same issue. Have all logs CHMOD 644. Have set the default to 644 as well. Nothing but 1006 errors in all domains.
     
  16. mooony

    mooony Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  17. eyckzo

    eyckzo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Providence, RI USA
    I have a support ticket open with Urchin on this issue to see if maybe they can correct the problem.

    I am still waiting for a response from them, it has been open for about a week now with nothing. Hopefully that means they are working on it. :)
     
  18. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Earth
    Run /usr/local/urchin/util/inspector and fix anything broken. See if that corrects things.
     
  19. eyckzo

    eyckzo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Providence, RI USA
    Have already tried that. It does change some permissions and such but as soon as the cPanel log processor runs again the permissions are set back to the way they were prior to running the inspector.

    My server is a DedicatedNow and the tech support staff went through a whole bunch of stuff with me to try and get it fixed but nothing we did fixed it so that's when I posted to these forums and opened a ticket with Urchin.

    Still no luck! I'm still having permissions problems! I even upgraded cPanel to the latest release (R60) and still same thing.

    I hope this issue gets resolved soon because for some reason even when I go into the Urchin admin area there's no reports. ;/
     
  20. Solokron

    Solokron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Same effect as you eyckzo.

    Looking for fix still.

     
Loading...

Share This Page