The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Urchin 5

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by cPanelNick, Aug 27, 2003.

  1. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Just wanted to know if anyone is having any problems with urchin5.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. dthigpen

    dthigpen Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Apex, NC
  3. Jeff75

    Jeff75 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Can you add an option under "Tweak Settings" where we can disable Urchin in cPanel?

    I set up ours to run seperate from cPanel a few weeks ago (in /usr/local/urchin5) because we do not have an unlimited domain license. When you updated cPanel to work with Urchin5, it started messing up our Urchin profiles because it automatically picks up all the logs (including sub-domains). When this happens it takes a LONG time to go through and delete all the incorrect profiles and add the ones that were removed. I removed the path to urchin5 in /usr/local/cpanel/cpanellogd and locked it using chgflags, but if you make any changes to the code for the other statistics programs, it won't be updated on our server.
     
    #3 Jeff75, Aug 27, 2003
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2003
  4. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    If you still have a ticket open on it, please email me the ticket # (nick@cpanel.net), or if not just send me an email anyways.

    /Nick

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. L4S

    L4S Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Australia
    Urchin 5 is working out of Cpanel as stand alone, but not inside xskin.

    The same problem as before, it's not updating any of the log files on any domain. I only use release not EDGE....any ETA on this version being patched Nick?

    Thanks
    L4s..

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. salvatore33

    salvatore33 Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Reply

    I have urchin 5 with WHM 7.4.2 cPanel 7.4.2-E135
    RedHat 7.3 - WHM X v2.1 . The Urchin scheduler stops overnight after I manually start it and the customers graphs do not show in Urchin. Any help will be highly appreciated. Thank you very much

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. Budwron

    Budwron Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have problems it urchin5 under my cpanel....

    PS : I have my own custum skin but I used the same script that X uses to display it's urchin5 graph...

    When I login to urchin5 (true urchin port) I get this..
    No Reports to View!

    When I try to view any reporst true my skin (that uses the same scripts for urchin5 as X) I can't view any graph and I can't view the SVG application...


    But when I access urchin5 true it's port... I can view the SVG application but there is no graph to view all stats appears as 0 visit's has been received... ?!?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. Jeff75

    Jeff75 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The reason why cPanel keeps stopping the urchin scheduler is because of this:

    #we process logs ourself
    system("killall -9 urchind >/dev/null 2>&1");

    which is located on line 32 in /usr/local/cpanel/cpanellogd/. I would like to know why this command is in the script?? If you use urchin, you obviously need the scheduler running so why kill it?

    This caused a lot of problems for us in the beginning because the urchin stats would never be generated becausethe scheduler was never running. Then we made a script which would detect and if it wasn't, it would start it, then we found where the code actually was that keeps screwing up the urchin stats.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. Budwron

    Budwron Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    Solution for this ?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. JPmorgan

    JPmorgan BANNED

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  11. pirania1

    pirania1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Posted ticket, emailed nick - awaiting reply :)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: 23147
     
  12. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Has anyone gotten the utm portion of urchin 5 working?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. pirania1

    pirania1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    yeah, it's pretty streightforward in urchin documentation.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  14. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I did not delve into it too deep yet, but it was saying that it required specific entries in eact virtualhost entry in the httpd.conf, which seems like a bad idea if cpanel is not putting it in there.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  15. Budwron

    Budwron Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Any change's on this ?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  16. dandanfireman

    dandanfireman Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It appears urchin is running logs of subdomains. I would request the following:

    1. Ability through the x themes to view subdomain's urchin stats.
    2. Ability to turn on/off subdomains for urchin globally
    3. Ability to turn on/off subomdains for urchin per account

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  17. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Can someone who is successfully using UTM please post me their logformat line from httpd.conf?

    Thank you!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  18. pirania1

    pirania1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Nick (bdraco) - I am still waiting for the solution.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: 23147
     
  19. pirania1

    pirania1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    6 days open ticket already

    6 days open ticket already
    no action taken from cpanel's side.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  20. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    What was your Urchin problem?

    Mine is not working at all in UTM mode, even though I think I have the logformat working properly.

    <sigh>

    Glad I only paid a buck for urchin!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     

Share This Page