The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Urchin Disk Space Usage

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jcallery, Nov 10, 2004.

  1. jcallery

    jcallery Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Greetings!
    I have a customer who claims that Urchin is currently using 167MB of disk space on his account. Is there any way for me to reduce the space that Urchin is occupying for him?


    Thanks!
     
  2. Marty

    Marty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Yes, you can delete the tmp/urchin directory, but you loose all the historical stats in those reports. Urchin reports take a lot of space.
     
  3. shacker23

    shacker23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I've got a customer who just ran out of quota, and found that his tmp/urchin directory was occupying nearly 1.5GB (!) Using a lot of space is one thing, but it seems like Urchin wants to use unlimited space! Is this correct? Doesn't it clean up its own temp files? Is there really no way to clean it up without losing all of its historical stats? Or does this indicate that Urchin is malfunctioning somehow?
     
  4. abubin

    abubin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Look under configurations on Process Settings. There is an option to limit the "DB Table Limit". I guess lowering that figure would lower the db size. This is a global value. You can also change this value on each profiles separately.

    Under profiles, storage/DB, there are a lot of settings to manage the logs and DB. Shouldn't be too hard to figure it out.
     
  5. shacker23

    shacker23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    abubin, thanks. Nice to know these controls are there. Unfortunately, it looks like lowering these values changes the upper threshold, but does not actually reduce the size/amount of data already stored. So it seems like the only avenue is to delete the user's entire urchin directory and let them start again at the lowered threshold, right?

    Thanks.
     
  6. abubin

    abubin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    you can remove the current stats and lower the DB settings and then rerun the logs if you have the old logs, you can make urchin make stats from those old logs. Don't forget to turn off some of the stuffs such as clean backups and number of backups to keep and other values that might take up space.
     
Loading...

Share This Page