The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Urchin now belongs to Google! Please remove Urchin

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jackie46, Nov 22, 2005.

  1. jackie46

    jackie46 BANNED

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Since http://urchin.com has now been bought by Google, will it continue to be supported in Cpanel? If not, when will urchin be removed from Cpanel. I can't wait until the day that it is FINALLY REMOVED from Cpanel. Hopefully that will mean that it will be completely removed from Cpanel so our users do not see it! It never worked in the first place and there was never any option supplied in FEATURE LIST to disable it.

    Please remove Urchin. Its no longer supported and we dont need it in Cpanel any longer! YIPPIE! ;)
     
  2. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    AFAIK this is still offered as server side software through their various partners. I don't see what the problem is with having the option available ? If you don't want to pay for the software to have it installed to your server, then don't! Urchin options aren't pestering you as you state, I fail to see how this is any kind of burden on the user when / if its not made available ? :confused:
     
  3. wfwh

    wfwh Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Are you sure there is not an option to disable? I think i ran across it once before....Do you have cpanelpro?

    I just looked...I don't have Urchin on my new server so can not tell you were to look....but I'm almost certain I saw a check box to disable the feature.
     
    #3 wfwh, Nov 22, 2005
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2005
  4. Marty

    Marty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    just go at /usr/local and rename urchin dir to something else "renamedurchin" or whatever you want.

    Then to nuke all the urchin dirs in your users...

    rm -rf /home/*/tmp/urchin


    Make sure to remove the urchin from rc.local to don't run it at startup

    Once this is done, it should not show up in user control panels anymore.
     
  5. jackie46

    jackie46 BANNED

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im talking about urchin in /home/*/tmp/urchin in all user webspace not the the version you could once install from http://urchin.com. I already own copies of Urchin so there is nothing to buy however since its no longer supported its not a viable option.

    What partners?
     
    #5 jackie46, Nov 22, 2005
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2005
  6. jackie46

    jackie46 BANNED

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nope, there has never been an option to disable it.
     
  7. jackie46

    jackie46 BANNED

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thats an option but when new sites are created they will be created by default.
     
  8. Marty

    Marty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I removed urchin this way on all my servers and have created many new accounts since and have no evidence of urchin in any of those client accounts.
     
  9. abubin

    abubin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    why is urchin the one to blame? why not blame cpanel for not supporting urchin properly?

    Problems with urchin is due to cpanel's log system. I have installed urchin in a different folder name which cpanel does not know thus it is running independently without problems. I have to create my own logs from httpd.conf but that's a small price to pay on performance for it to run properly. With urchin running, I can disable analog and webstat to reduce the load further. All in all, I am happy with the balance.
     
  10. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Since urchin doesn't come with cPanel, don't install urchin if you don't want it. If you have installed it and you don't want it, remove it plus any files it's created. Nothing unusually difficult in that.
     
  11. jackie46

    jackie46 BANNED

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not sure what you mean by "Since urchin doesnt come with cpane"l. Its installed in /home/*/tmp/urchin and we didnt put it there.
     
  12. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I mean what I said. cPanel does not install urchin. That has to be done manually. If it is installed by you or whoever built the server, then cPanel will try and use it to generate stats. If you don't want urchin stats, either don't install urchin or remove it.
     
  13. jackie46

    jackie46 BANNED

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Still shows up

    Urchin Stats
    Urchin is commercial stats package.

    In the web / ftp stats screen
     
  14. kickedmydog

    kickedmydog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    More info?

    Hi, I was just looking for exactly this information. Can you please share the step processes you took in order to make this work 100%?

    I've been pestering my data center a lot and they can't make it go. :|

    BTW: Urchin on Google is 24hrs behind and they aren't accepting new clients. Personally I will probably purchase the $5,000 license for my server in order to have real time information and to privitize that information away from Google.
     

Share This Page