The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Urchin port problems.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rdc_klaus, Jun 21, 2008.

  1. rdc_klaus

    rdc_klaus Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    WHM 11.23.2 cPanel 11.23.3-R25623
    CENTOS Enterprise 5 i686 on standard - WHM X v3.1.0

    Trying to install Urchin 5.703.
    and keep getting port unavailable messages.

    Code:
    Choose a port number for the webserver [Default: 9999]
    -> 9999
    
    The specified port is not available.
    Its a new server/cpanel install out of the box with "The Planet".
    I tried different port#s with same result.
     
    #1 rdc_klaus, Jun 21, 2008
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2008
  2. Kailash1

    Kailash1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    If you have installed any Firewall then make sure that the port which you are trying to use for Urchin is not blocked.

    Regards,

    Kailash
     
  3. rdc_klaus

    rdc_klaus Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    its out the box. So would that be IPTables?

    How do I append port 9999?
     
  4. Kailash1

    Kailash1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You may accept the connection to your port 9999 and you can add it in iptable using below command:

    iptables -I INPUT -p tcp --dport 9999 -j ACCEPT

    Experts, please correct me if I am wrong.

    Kailash
     
  5. rdc_klaus

    rdc_klaus Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Here is how I solved it.

    "i hacked the install.sh and removed the port check. I know the port i
    chose is available, so make sure you do the same!

    Around line 870 in install.sh:
    # Verify the port is available

    Remove everything up so it displays as follows:
    else
    # Verify the port is available
    PORT=$portin
    wflag=1
    fi

    The installer will then bypass the port check and continue
    installation. Hope this helps! "

    From: http://groups.google.com/group/urch...ad/6d618c5bc4a4a05e/c267ea3eb61c28d6?lnk=raot
     
Loading...

Share This Page