The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

URGENT! Apache fail to start, no error show!

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by warrence, Mar 20, 2007.

  1. warrence

    warrence Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Apache fail to start after doing apache update with mcrypt and mhash checked in the option.

    configtest shows Syntax OK! no error in /var/log/messages and /etc/httpd/logs/error_log

    Please help!!!!
     
  2. krprahlad

    krprahlad Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Please do following and see if it throws any message

    1) /scripts/restartsrv_apache

    If that does not throws any error try

    2) /scripts/restartsrv apache (without underscore)

    This may give you some useful information.

    The common reason may be domlog size , you can check the domlog size.

    Thanks,
     
  3. warrence

    warrence Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    httpd fail to start, please contact sysadmin.


    I got this error.
     
  4. krprahlad

    krprahlad Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Okay so we got error , May be any log file size might have become more than 2GB , you need to remove that log file and then restart APACHE.


    You can check it through these commands.

    1) /scripts/biglogcheck -v

    or ,

    find / -size +1000000000c

    Please let us know if it does not get solved by this. We will look for other option.

    Thanks,
     
  5. mohakevin

    mohakevin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello,

    Do:

    /etc/init.d/httpd restart

    look at:

    /var/log/messages
    /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log
    /usr/local/apache/logs/access_log

    Check if there is a error in that log files.


    If nothing works, reboot your server and try another time.

    Regards
     
  6. warrence

    warrence Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    /scripts/biglogcheck -v .....return nothing

    the second one return file which is nothing to do with domlogs.

    when restart httpd it said restarted..but actually is not running at all.

    configtest return Syntax OK
     
  7. warrence

    warrence Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    non of them have log regarding this problem....access_log and error_log stop recording since httpd failed to start.
     
  8. krprahlad

    krprahlad Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Try these scripts one by one

    /scripts/rebuildnamedconf
    /scripts/fixcommonproblems
    /scripts/updatenow

    and even after these APACHE don't get start , try easyapache and select minimum option in php and see if it gets solved.

    :confused:
     
  9. easyhoster1

    easyhoster1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    try re-compilying without the mcrypt and mhash and see if it will come back. Always make a backup before adding any mods.
     
  10. warrence

    warrence Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    i remember when i run apache update in browser, the screen show "cannot open page" on the half way. Could it be the reason why httpd broken?

    i tried /upcp but no hope too
     
  11. krprahlad

    krprahlad Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Did you try /usr/local/apache/bin/apachectl start

    Did you finish with "EASYAPACHE"
     
  12. warrence

    warrence Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Invalid command 'Alias', perhaps mis-spelled or defined by a module not included in the server configuration
    /usr/local/apache/bin/apachectl start: httpd could not be started

    finally i saw some error, but how to solve this?

    I think is module problem, seems like httpd cannot find the module path...

    i remember i did export LD_LIBRARY_PATH...is there anything going to do with that?
     
  13. krprahlad

    krprahlad Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hiii,

    Is apache running in server now?
     
  14. mohakevin

    mohakevin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I suggest you that you do :

    /scripts/easyapache

    and recompile the php and apache

    Even, i suggest you too that before this you do:

    /scripts/upcp --force


    This must work for you.

    Regards.
     
  15. voodoo77

    voodoo77 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    same problems here :(

    warrence : any luck ?
    I'm having exactly the same issue with my server now ! The apache server used to run until 30 mins ago when I recompiled apache with php 4.4.6. No error logs, no huge files ! This is very annoing !
    Any help is very welcome.
    Thanks !
     
  16. yash

    yash Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sometimes when i update apache through whm it stops in the middle and apache wont restart.

    Just try to ssh in as root and recompile apache with easyapache

    /script/easyapache

    then restart apache and see if it works.

    Regards

    Yash
     
    #16 yash, Mar 26, 2007
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2007
  17. student

    student Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    You can trace httpd process and find out why it stops. I suggest you to use 'strace' :)
     
  18. a.sheipani

    a.sheipani Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    any luck??

    hey
    have you fixed this problem yet, because i'm stuck with the same issue right now
     
Loading...

Share This Page