The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

URGENT: apache failed, won't work?

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by Secret Agent, Nov 30, 2004.

  1. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    I don't know why but Apache shows as failed (v1.33.3) in WHM server status.

    Steps:

    1. Update apache
    2. Update cPanel (release)
    3. /scripts/upcp --focr
    4. service chkservd restart
    5. /scripts/updatenow
    6. Restart apache (fine, no errors)
    7. restart mysql (fine, no errors)

    Specs:
    Fedora Core 1
    CPanel Relase 160

    I don't know what's going on. This should work.
     
  2. EdRooney

    EdRooney BANNED

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    WHM server status is often inaccurate try to bring up http://ip or hostname
     
  3. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    It is not in green status, but the server is extremely slow

    There is only one web site, a phpbb forum at 750MB and only that site is not even loading at all. Only about 10 concurrent members at once

    What could I do?
     
  4. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Any errors running this? /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd configtest
     
  5. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    root@server [~]# /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd configtest
    Syntax OK
    root@server [~]#

    Memory always floats about 68%
    server load always about 1.03 or higher

    I did a graceful reboot as well, problem arised again.

    The onl domain on the server is now not even loading AT ALL!
    DNS is 100% correct, fully propagated with registrar and all

    Resolvers are fine
    127.0.0.1 (local)
    and server IP for secondary

    What could I do?
     
  6. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    Pid Owner Priority Cpu % Mem % Command
    2008 root 0 9.4 0.7 /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -DSSL
     
  7. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    anyone? apache keeps failing due to cpu overload, constantly. :(
     
  8. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    someone please help
     
  9. EdRooney

    EdRooney BANNED

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    chmod 000 /path/to/phpbb
     
  10. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    Why 000?

    Please see attached image...cpu usage in red at 3.50%
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    Response from level 2:

    myuser mydomain.net 1.12 73.04 0.1
    Top Process %CPU 6.4 /usr/bin/perl /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/awstats.pl -configmydomain.net -update
    Top Process %CPU 5.8 httpd [www.mydomain.net] [/php/admin/index.php?paneright&sidafef72d9704fc80a827f891]
    Top Process %CPU 5.4 /usr/bin/perl /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/awstats.pl -configmydomain.net -update
    mysql 0.37 10.68 0.0
    Top Process %CPU 50.0 /usr/sbin/mysqld --basedir/ --datadir/var/lib/mysql --usermysql --pid-file/var/lib/mysql/server.mydomain.net.pid --skip-locking
    Top Process %CPU 20.0 /usr/sbin/mysqld --basedir/ --datadir/var/lib/mysql --usermysql --pid-file/var/lib/mysql/server.mydomain.net.pid --skip-locking
    Top Process %CPU 19.0 /usr/sbin/mysqld --basedir/ --datadir/var/lib/mysql --usermysql --pid-file/var/lib/mysql/server.mydomain.net.pid --skip-locking
    root 0.36 9.09 2.0

    Kill off all the log analysis scripts for now and then rotate his logs as they are probally never been rolled over since day one and will get very large on a busy site. (cpanel has no log rotation by default). Once you do that then you will see the load drop down and performance come back up. The log analysis programs like AWStats, Urchin and Webalizer are all very CPU / IO intensive as they are chewing through large logs at times or need to do many thousands of reverse DNS lookups for every IP that has connected to the WWW server. That is why I suggested looking at the DNS first. If the DNS was set to 216.39.65.xx or other earlier today and you have not restarted the above webstats then that could have also been your problem from the start and the awstats above have just 'hung' and taking all your resources and just needs to be restarted.


    =
    Sorry, how do I kill off these processes and rotate logs? I've never done this before.
     
  12. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    ps ax | grep "process name"

    kill -9 "PID of the process from the above result".

    BTW secretagent; its been long that u r seen online ?
     
  13. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    Hello, yes been too busy working sorry :)

    Which "process name" is it?
     
  14. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    mysqld

    and in case of log rotates; you can check if there is an option to disable this at the WHM.
     
Loading...

Share This Page