The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

URGENT : Apache Failed

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by Ankit_bond2005, Jul 6, 2004.

  1. Ankit_bond2005

    Ankit_bond2005 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    I have a Server on which i have Red Hat Linux 9 & Apache 1.3.31 ... from yesterday my apache fails a lot ... I mean after every 10-15 min. it fails & the server Load goes High .. after that i restared Apache & still after 10-15 min. it failed again !

    Can anybody help ?
     
  2. jester.ro

    jester.ro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    does this happen after an update to apache?

    as far as i understand from other cpanel users, after a fresh instal of cpanel or mahjor upgrade(to apache for example) services(and especially apache) is failing alot, and it takes few days to setle down.


    something about modifying filelimits, or something.
    probably when your server has a higher load, it modifies the number of apache servers it has to start by default, and issues a kill to aapche.


    keep watching, if in few days problems don't stop, might be something else.
     
  3. Ankit_bond2005

    Ankit_bond2005 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    No i had not made any Updates but to rectify the error I Updated Apache now. But error Continues ... Apache fails regularly after 10-15 min. & my site http://tamranda.com/ has gone very-very Slow !

    Thanks,
    Ankit
     
  4. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    What does /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log say just before it fails?
     
  5. Ankit_bond2005

    Ankit_bond2005 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    Hello,

    I tried to open that file in Pico but was too long .. can anybody tell me how to download it ?

    Also i tried to Restart Apache i got this :

    Attempting to restart httpd
    Waiting for httpd to restart.... . . . . . . . . . . finished.

    httpd status



    httpd has failed, please contact the sysadmin.
     
  6. jester.ro

    jester.ro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    try tailing it

    tail -f /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log

    and watch what happens there

    if right after a crash, try
    tail -n 200 /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log

    that will give you the last 200 lines (increase if there's nothing unusual there)
     
  7. Ankit_bond2005

    Ankit_bond2005 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    Hello,

    The only Unusal thing is the Last line which says : [Notice] caught SIGTERM, shutting down ... I think it can help :(
     
    #7 Ankit_bond2005, Jul 7, 2004
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2004
  8. dandanfireman

    dandanfireman Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If you would like some assistance in troubleshooting the issue, please feel free to contact me at dshurett (at) alphaomegahosting (dot) com
     
  9. jester.ro

    jester.ro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    that means something killed apache service. either cpanel, or the kernel.

    look at kernel logs, and check for any lines that mention "out of memory-killing process XXXXX"
     
  10. Ankit_bond2005

    Ankit_bond2005 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    Where can i check the kernel Logs ? Also my server Load is very low ... So y would it kill it ?

    1 more thing .. I updated Apache once again but still Apche fails to Start..

    [EDIT] I made a Reboot .. but still Apache Doesn't seem to work [EDIT]
     
    #10 Ankit_bond2005, Jul 7, 2004
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2004
  11. jester.ro

    jester.ro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    kernel logs shoul be in /var/log/*


    check for kernel there, os syslogd, depending what syslogger you have


    also, just cose it happened to me once, start "top", and check the first lines, something about swap and swap usage

    load could stay low, but when it needs memmory, could kill some processes if it doesn't have enough phisical memory +swap.


    just check it out
     
  12. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Do

    /usr/sbin/httpd configtest

    to see why apache is refusing to start.
     
  13. Ankit_bond2005

    Ankit_bond2005 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    Hello,

    This is what I get :

    root@server1 [~]# /usr/sbin/httpd configtest

    Syntax error on line 443 of /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf:
    Invalid command 'PerlModule', perhaps mis-spelled or defined by a module not included in the server configuration


    Thanks,
    Ankit
     
  14. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    You installed Apache-ASP before, right? You need to re-install it.
     
  15. Ankit_bond2005

    Ankit_bond2005 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    Wow !! Yes It works now ! You ppl are great !!! Simply great !!

    Thanks,
    Ankit
     
  16. jester.ro

    jester.ro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    well, maybe we would have helped you faster if you would have presented the problem corectly.

    you said apache was failing every 10-15 minutes.

    with a syntax error in httpd.conf, apache NEVER starts, not to mention run for 10 minutes.

    oh well, glad it works now.
     
  17. Ankit_bond2005

    Ankit_bond2005 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    Well before it permanetly failed actully i was getting Emails From service montor that Apache has failed , Also when i did the Restart , Apche Restarted but Failed after 15 min. Again ..

    After that when i updated Apache for the 3rd Time it failed Permanently ..
     
  18. Ankit_bond2005

    Ankit_bond2005 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    Hello,

    Problem found again ...

    When i restart Apache it says :

    httpd: [ != HTTP/1..] httpd has failed, please contact the sysadmin.

    When i do Config test it says :

    Syntax OK

    What can it be ?

    Thanks,
    Ankit
     
  19. Ankit_bond2005

    Ankit_bond2005 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    Now again after 10-15 min. i get an emails from Service Monitor Saying Apache on my Server has failed :( ...
     
Loading...

Share This Page