The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Urgent Help Please!!!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by virtualreality, Apr 3, 2011.

  1. virtualreality

    virtualreality Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi Friend,

    Last night I upgraded WHM/cPanel to the latest STABLE build, 11.28.87-STABLE_51188. Also, I upgraded Apache via Easy::Apache v3.2.0 Build 5316 in the WHM.

    However, all the sites on my server are down, only displaying strange character/code pages. I've checked every aspect of the two upgrades and the server. I've found everything seems normal except in the WHM PHP Configuration Editor I see the following:

    mbstring.http_input = pass

    mbstring.http_output = pass

    I guess the cause that all sites can not normally show may be due to the mbstring wrong inputs. Originally, the WHM PHP Configuration Editor showed the two mbstring values as the following:

    mbstring.http_input UTF-8,SJIS,EUC-JP

    mbstring.http_output UTF-8

    Several days ago I wanted to install phpBB, so I changed both values = pass as the phpBB installation requires. Now I feel this is a frustrated mistake. phpBB has their own script problems, and the "pass" values seem to make all sites on my server dead now!

    From the midnight to the morning now, I've tried again and again to change back the two mbstring values that have kept all the sites running smoothly and normally:

    mbstring.http_input = UTF-8,SJIS,EUC-JP

    mbstring.http_output = UTF-8

    However, every time after I changed and saved the two values (mbstring.http_input = UTF-8,SJIS,EUC-JP ; mbstring.http_output = UTF-8) through the WHM PHP Configuration Editor, the two values STILL show as (mbstring.http_input = pass ; mbstring.http_output = pass)

    I tried to change back to the two original values through editing my server php file /usr/local/lib/php.ini via SSH into my server, but no effect!!! Very confusing, in /usr/local/lib/php.ini, the two original values are saved there with other mbstring lines:

    mbstring.http_input = "UTF-8,SJIS,EUC-JP"

    mbstring.http_output = "UTF-8"

    mbstring.internal_encoding = "UTF-8"

    mbstring.encoding_translation = On (but in WHM PHP Configuration Editor, it shows: Off )

    mbstring.detect_order = "ASCII,JIS,UTF-8,SJIS,EUC-JP"

    ......

    (My Apaches uses the default_charset: UTF-8)

    But in the WHM PHP Configuration Editor, the two mbstring lines STILL show "pass":

    mbstring.http_input pass

    mbstring.http_output pass


    I've recompiled the Apache through Easy::Apache v3.2.0 Build 5316 several times---no expected results, and all webpages can not normally show. The last night's two upgrades have rendered php 5.36 and the new MySQL version (5.09?) to my server. Apache version is 2.2 that is stable for over two years. Are there any incompatible problems from the new php 5.36 or the new MySQL version?

    However, I do feel the primary cause for the sites' down is the two mbstring values (pass) that exist in the WHM PHP Configuration Editor when I first upgraded the Apache through Easy::Apache v3.2.0 Build 5316. I know the 'pass' values are the defaults for mbstring.http_input and mbstring.http_output, but it seems not working for my server that has smoothly used the original values in the above for a long time.

    Or, does the problem(s) usually come from some place in the server settings or somewhere else?

    Or, the problem(s) comes from cPanel moving to RPMs or the New 11.28 Version Redesigned UIs for cPanel & WHM? ---- I have not upgraded the WHM/cPanel since last summer and the old WHM and cPanel have worked smoothly and very well in my server. Last night I upgraded the WHM/cPanel from cPanel 11.25.0-S44718 - WHM 11.25.0 - X 3 to the latest STABLE build, 11.28.87-STABLE_51188

    Early last year I was able to change some values in the WHM PHP Configuration Editor with just several clicks away, then clicked the Save button and then restarted Apache server. All set! It was very convenient and instant! Why now I can not do this again??

    How to solve the headache problem(s)??

    Urgent help please!!!

    Please help!!!

    Thank you very much from my heart!!!
     
    #1 virtualreality, Apr 3, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2011
  2. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are any attributes set on the php.ini file? Specifically, the i (immutable) or a (append-only) attribute would cause what you are seeing. What is the lsattr output for php.ini? It should look like this:

    Code:
    # lsattr /usr/local/lib/php.ini
    ------------- /usr/local/lib/php.ini
    If any attributes are set, they need to be cleared. The following command would clear the a and i attributes, if set:

    Code:
    # chattr -i -a /usr/local/lib/php.ini
    Also, what are the permissions and ownerships of the php.ini file?

    Code:
    # ls -alh /usr/local/lib/php.ini
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 37K Mar 21 10:40 /usr/local/lib/php.ini
    If this issue is truly urgent, you may want to submit a ticket, so that an analyst can log in, investigate the problem directly and fix it for you. Without being able to log in, all we can do via the forums is speculate and offer suggestions.
     
  3. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I had a few additional thoughts and wanted to expand on this a bit.

    cPanel is not yet using RPMs for the bulk of the cPanel software, and is also not using RPM versions of Apache or PHP.

    I wanted also to mention that if you have both PHP 4 and PHP 5 installed, there may be some confusion. Do you have PHP 4 and PHP 5 installed, and if so, which is the default? Having both versions installed will result in having one php.ini file at /usr/local/lib/php.ini, and another at either /usr/local/lib/php4/php.ini or /usr/local/lib/php5/php.ini, depending on which version is the default. It is possible that the PHP configuration editor is editing one php.ini file for one version of PHP, but your site is using the other version.

    It would probably be best if you can submit a ticket so that we can look at your exact configuration and resolve this for you.
     
  4. virtualreality

    virtualreality Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    The problems and issues were fixed nicely yesterday evening with the professional cPanel technical support from Kyle. All are well set.

    Sincere thanks to Kyle!
     
  5. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Can you provide the ticket number or how the issue was resolved for future reference?
     
  6. virtualreality

    virtualreality Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    One vital cause is the newly-released latest "stable" PHP 5.3.6. PHP 5.3.6 has serious incompatible issues, among other things. For instance, PHP 5.3.6 is not compatible with ZEND files. Is there anyone here on the forum or in cPanel who has done a benchmark testing of PHP 5.3.6?

    Now I know this from the Saturday's upgrade: PHP 5.3.6 will kick ZEND out of the server box if Apache is recompiled with PHP 5.3.6! The PHP 5.3.6 incompatibility with ZEND and the ZEND's deactivation are causing various issues for and fatal effects on websites that are running ZEND-optimized files.

    A helpful note: please do not rush to upgrade with PHP 5.3.6 if you have ZEND running on your website, until the incompatible issue is resolved.
     
Loading...

Share This Page