The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Urgent:How do i Delete a DNS entry if it DOES NOT exist

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Quadragon, Oct 14, 2005.

  1. Quadragon

    Quadragon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Northants, UK
    I am the Webmaster for BPmods.com (modding for boiling point: road to hell) I had planned to terminate the account on a gradeserve server and move it to my own DAPGroup.co.uk severs. Logically that didnt work. howeverwhen I try to reinstall it to Gradeserve I keep getting the error message

    "Sorry, a DNS entry for bpmods.com already exists, please delete it first (from all servers in the dns cluster)"

    I goto the delete the DNS entry and it does not exist??

    How do I fix this so I can get the site back up thanks.


    P.s I have labled this urgent because the Modding kit has just become available.
     
  2. sparek-3

    sparek-3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,382
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Remove the zone file in /var/named:

    Code:
    rm -f /var/named/bpmods.com.db
    and make sure its entry is removed from /etc/named.conf. You'll have to edit this file and search for bpmods.com, using whatever text editor you like.

    Then reload the named database:

    Code:
    /usr/sbin/ndc reload
     
  3. Quadragon

    Quadragon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Northants, UK
    Sorry but where do i remove them from??
     
  4. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    You'll have to SSH to your server, and run that command.
     
  5. Murtaza_t

    Murtaza_t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Also check if an entry is present in your httpd.conf

    Also remove the DNS entry in /var/cpanel/users/user_name , if exist
     
  6. Quadragon

    Quadragon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Northants, UK
    ahh... I havent ever needed to do that So i never learnt how to :confused:
     
  7. Murtaza_t

    Murtaza_t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    If you dont know how to do you better keep away from that files or you may screw things up..

    Ask some one to help you...
     
  8. Quadragon

    Quadragon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Northants, UK
    well...with what ive messed up this week I will stay away lol and get some1 to help me..

    Thanks anyway
     
  9. bijo

    bijo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    Hello,

    Please go through the follows

    Whm >> DNS Functions >> Delete a DNS Zone

    It will help you to solve this issue
     
  10. Quadragon

    Quadragon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Northants, UK
    no it does not im afraid because it does not exist in the DNS settings AT ALL.
    I admit im new at this but thats the 1st thing i checked. :p

    thanks for trying anyway
     
  11. bijo

    bijo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    Then no way :(

    Login to console and check the files. If you don't know that, contact your hosting provider or open a ticket in cpanel
     
  12. jack10k

    jack10k Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------

    You should try to contact your hosting provider.
    Please try to add the account again.
     
  13. pshepperd

    pshepperd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Just remove the entry from /etc/named.conf

    And remove the file from /var/named/ that corresponds to your domain.

    use pico or nano, only reload after you remove the entry from named.conf

    the first answer was the correct one please let us know if you solved the problem.
     
  14. bijo

    bijo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    Dear Paul,

    Unfortunately, He didn't know that, that is why I told him to contact his hosting provider
     
Loading...

Share This Page