The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

URGENT: Movable Type Woes!!!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by erick_paper, Jul 2, 2005.

  1. erick_paper

    erick_paper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    Suddenly I am getting a whole bunch of 500 errors on my Movable Type installation on a bunch of sites that were working just fine until now.

    This a thread on the movable type site suggesting that this may be related to a Cpanel daily update.

    What has the Cpanel daily update done? How can I rectify it??!!

    .ep
     
  2. Talkloud

    Talkloud Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Having this problem as well, across multiple servers and a number of clients. No changes to the installations, the only real similarity being that its MT/Cpanel only.
     
  3. erick_paper

    erick_paper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Any thoughts on this? Hope this'll be made into a sticky as it's affecting thousands of users.
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Nothing's going to happen until you post the technical details of the problem, especially since it's a third-party script that has nothing to do with the cPanel apps. I would imagine it's an apache problem. What errors do you get in the apache error log and the suexec log when you have problems?
     
  5. erick_paper

    erick_paper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks.

    Apache error_log says:
    Suexec_log says:
    Not very clear I imagine? There was a speculation on MT boards that this may have to do with some newfangled file size limits?
     
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Are there no errors before or after the "premature end of script headers"?

    Have you checked that:

    /home/MYDOMAIN/public_html/mt/mt.cgi is chmod 755 or 711

    and that:

    /home/MYDOMAIN/public_html/mt is also chmod 755

    Both would be needed if SUEXEC is enabled.
     
  7. neutro

    neutro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    we also experience the same problem with Moveable Type. Hope I can figure what has gone wrong :rolleyes:

    Internal Server Error and Premature Script headers
     
  8. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    To help determine if an apache issue or the like, can you execute the cgi form ssh? That should give some more info.
     
  9. erick_paper

    erick_paper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    CHMOD settings are fine. Both the folder as well as the CGI file are 755.

    Doing a "perl mt.cgi" at the SSH prompt executes the file properly. I can actually see the CGI file alright. But when I submit a form, that's when I get an error. How should I test an HTML form submit at command line?
     
  10. steven

    steven Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    We have the same issue across a number of servers. File permissions are fine as they were running perfectly prior to a yesterday/couple days ago.

    I'm wondering if this is centOS/cpanel issue. What OS are you guys running.

    -Steven
     
    #10 steven, Jul 2, 2005
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2005
  11. Talkloud

    Talkloud Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Running on Fedora here...

    File and Directory both CHMOD 755

    Running the file from command line executes the file as normal, though most of that time the file will run on its own, it's only durring the rebuilding process where there are a large amount of lines that I get the 500 errors.

    Errors on my system are duplicates of erick_paper's post.

    Also tried running /scripts/perlinstaller Time::HiRes since this was the last CPAN module updated but with no luck, the errors still occur.
     
  12. nybble

    nybble Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Moveable Type is working fine here. Let's see what happens after tonights upcp :)

    WHM 10.1.0 cPanel 10.2.0-S83 RedHat Enterprise 3 i686
    WHM 10.1.0 cPanel 10.1.0-R78 CentOS 3.4 i686
    WHM 10.1.0 cPanel 10.1.0-R78 CentOS 3.4 i686
     
    #12 nybble, Jul 2, 2005
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2005
  13. steven

    steven Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    We have same error as Erik's too, I just wanted to see if this is affecting other OS's as well, which it clearly is as we now have a RH server with it 7.3

    -Steven
     
  14. Talkloud

    Talkloud Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  15. erick_paper

    erick_paper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The MT thread seems to have developed.

    Some guy found that DBI::Mysql may need to be reinstalled.

    How can I best and gracefully do this from SSH command prompt? or should I update through whm?
     
  16. steven

    steven Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    We downgraded DBI perl module to 1.47 and this fixed this issue. This then also downgraded dbd::mysql as well.

    -Steven
     
  17. neutro

    neutro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Will upcp upgrade the modules again. How to prevent this?

    TQ
     
  18. nybble

    nybble Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    upcp just ran on the RHE box and MT is still fine. Not sure why you guys are getting errors... but best of luck to you all.
     
  19. neutro

    neutro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Installed DBI-1.47 from source but ended up upcp overwriting/upgraded it.. :( to 1.48
     
  20. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess

Share This Page