The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

url changes on login

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by USGlory, Oct 2, 2007.

  1. USGlory

    USGlory Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Whenever one of my clients log into their cPanel the url changes

    from: "http://www.theirdomain.com/cpanel"
    to: "https://myhostname.mydomain.com:2083/..."

    All the permissions for the user are the same, but the address bar is wrong.

    Seems a bit odd, and a bit anal... but I don't want my users to have to technically leave their domain to administer through cPanel

    Is there and ideas as to why my users are being taken away from their domain?
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Go to WHM -> Server Configuration -> Tweak Settings and in the Redirection section, check your settings.

    If you want their domain to be displayed in the address bar, set the following settings to origin domain name:

    - When visiting /cpanel or /whm or /webmail WITHOUT SSL, you can choose to redirect to:
    - When visiting /cpanel or /whm or /webmail with SSL, you can choose to redirect to:

    Note, that if you use this, and there is not a SSL certificate for https://theirDomain.com then they will see a message in their browser prompting them that the certificate is not signed by an authority.

    If you are redirecting to https://, it is recommended you redirect them to the SSL certificate name to avoid this message that could alarm novice users.
     
  3. USGlory

    USGlory Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Killer! thanks, works perfectly.
     
    #3 USGlory, Oct 2, 2007
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2007
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No, as I previously stated it is how you have your server set up that is causing this (see my above post)
     
  5. USGlory

    USGlory Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    yeah you posted while I was posting, didn't read it until it was done.

    Thanks again David.
     
Loading...

Share This Page