Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

URL Forwarding - Hide new URL?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by justhost, May 5, 2004.

  1. justhost

    justhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    Hello

    Is it possible in CPanel/WHM to forward to a domain to another URL but keep the domain showing in the Address?

    ie

    I want keith-domain.com to display http://www.domain2.com/cgi-bin/script.cgi?id=123456&action=display

    I have the URL forwarding setup now so that going to keith-domain.com forwards to the longer address but I dont want people to see the longer address.

    How can I do this in WHM or CPanel??

    Thanks.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    I dunno. Sounds like a job for a frame.
     
  3. alex042

    alex042 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Yep, I believe frames is how some places, like zone edit do this. If all you want is a simple link, just do a redirect from within cpanel so that if they type in domain.com/link, it automatically forwards them to domain.com/link.php?asdfasdfasdfasdf.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. BigLoveXXX

    BigLoveXXX Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    same problem, but... :confused:

    I have the same problem. Customers is asking me how they can redirect a URL with cloaked URL.

    I don’t now what to answer them.

    Someone of you wrote "Sounds like a job for a frame."

    Will you please explain what do you mean by that?

    Is it possible at all to achieve that without changing DNS records? :confused:

    Regards,
    IIO
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. novel

    novel Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    I think .htaccess can do that

    I am not so sure about this. But i think a few coding in .htaccess file can server the same purpose.

    Rgds
    Novel
     
  6. BigLoveXXX

    BigLoveXXX Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Yes? :)

    Now this is becoming interesting!

    Any idea how and what to change in httacess?

    IIO
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    This has nothing to do with 'shortening' the URL using a rewrite rule in htaccess. I was addressing the issue of wanting to 'mask' the URL from the browser.

    It is not a very friendly practice IMO.

    If you want to learn more about frames you can visit this page.

    Basically you would setup put something like the following on your index page:

    <frameset rows="*">
    <frame src="pageyouwantdisplayedwiththeaddressnotshown.htm">
    </frameset>
     
  8. BigLoveXXX

    BigLoveXXX Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Intressting! :)

    I'm actually not interested in the technology behind - I only need something that can do that.

    How it can be achieved doesn't matter because the clients want to se result :)

    Do you know how to do that with httacces file?

    regards,
    IOO
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. genome

    genome Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    tell them to stick it in a frame. basic HTMl ffs.
     
  10. spaceman

    spaceman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Old thread I know, but seeing as I've just dealt with the issue...


    FRAME EXAMPLE (see: www.lcdhomeloans.com.au):

    <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Frameset//EN">
    <html>
    <head>
    <title>LCD Home Loans</title>
    <meta name="description" content="giving you the clear picture on home loans">
    <meta name="keywords" content="home, loans, perth, australia, lcd">
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8">
    </head>

    <frameset rows="*" cols=",">
    <frame src="http://www.planaustralia.com.au/members/lcdhomeloans/" frameborder="0" marginheight="0" marginwidth="0">
    </frameset>

    </html>


    .HTACCESS EXAMPLE (create a .htaccess plain text file and stick it in your public_html dir):

    Redirect /index.html http://www.planaustralia.com.au/members/lcdhomeloans/


    Notes:
    1. The frame method retains the original URL, but frames aren't very search engine friendly
    2. The .htaccess method does not retain the original URL but I believe is more search engine friendly (prepared to stand corrected on this)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice