The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Usabillity

Discussion in 'User Experience' started by areh, May 11, 2007.

  1. areh

    areh Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    The icons in cPanel 11 is not clickable and I think this is a large usability issue. Because the icons is so large, users think they can click on them. But nothing happens. Then they have to re-think how to achive their goal and this breaks the user experience and is annoying. Yes, everyone understands that you need to try the link to, but it is not obvious. As a developer, I know it takes a little more effort to make images clickable to, but it is really worth it!

    The next thing is the left "menu" (where server status, versions etc. is displayed). If you have a path to the user account that is more than 5-6 chars long (like in demo and most people have it, except for the screenshot of the dev. version), the text goes to the end of the rigth margin in the "menu" and it looks ugly. There should at least be a right margin of some pixels so that the text doesn't go into the rigth border. Yes, there is limted space there so with a more margin, more webhost would get the path on new line, but then you should rather move the entire section and put it elsewhere, like on frontpage. How often do you need to know php version etc?

    And then there is the mouse-over highligth of actions like setting up ftp accounts..

    There are a lot of design issues I would have wanted to change if I was the developer of this... It would be so simple too! cPanel could have been perfect with the rigth people to design, but it seems like coding is the most important issue. This IS good, but design is very important also for us webhost that offer this to our clients.

    Are

    ps: Sorry for my english!
     
    #1 areh, May 11, 2007
    Last edited: May 11, 2007
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The icons in cPanel's X3 interface are clickable. Can you perhaps be more specific regarding what in particular you are referring to as I am unable to replicate these issues on the demo.

    Having dealt with many customers, I know that the paths the vast majority of our customers use are either "/home" or "/home#" where # is a number, most often 2. Since user names are typically restricted to 8 characters by the OS, for the majority of our customers will likely never encounter this issue.

    You are however free to submit this as a feature request to http://bugzilla.cpanel.net

    Hence the left pane is collapsible to hide all but the most frequently needed information.

    What precisely is your input regarding mouse-over highlighting?

     
  3. Edizon

    Edizon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    AZ
    I am pretty sure he means the DHTML Zoom effect your have in your FTP accounts page. In "Accounts Management" area you mouse over the functions and it enlarges to view. IE: Delete - Edit Quote - Change Password - Configure FTP Client

    I actually think this is a great effect, however I am not to fond of it in a control panel.
     
  4. areh

    areh Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    When I visited the demo before, the icons where not clickable. I revisited the demo today, and they are now clickable (However, you don't see this clearly, because they are forms). But far better than it was. You could add javascript to show hand or pointer to show that it is clickable.

    See http://x3demob.cpx3demo.com:2082/frontend/x3/index.html. Rigth now, the servername is streching the width of the left column (x3demob.cpx3demo.com). You are probably correct on the path, as long as it just shows home/username.

    It was as the previous poster said. The DHTML zoom effect. Since the intial image is so small, it gives a bad user experience (bad first impression, and correcting a bad impression is not easy: I don't think the zoom effect corrects this good enough) on first visit and the mouse over DHTML effect it is an effect that you will get tired of after a while. If the initial image was normal size (looks good), it would be better, even if you would want to keep the DHTML. But that is just my opinion.
     
  5. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The expanders were done to solve the page not fitting at 800x600. The other option is to switch back to drop down boxes. however that presents the issue: users cannot see all the options right away. we could just provide an option to choose. if u want to see it with drop downs, just disable javascript.
     
  6. sparek-3

    sparek-3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Did the options for deleting, changing password, configuring client, etc in the FTP client and e-mail accounts change to drop down boxes? Is this what this thread is referring to?

    Reason I ask, is that I am now seeing drop down boxes for these configuration options. Did not see any big threads concerning this, wasn't sure if there was an option that I might have missed.
     
  7. DaveUsedToWorkHere

    DaveUsedToWorkHere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18

    Only if you have javascript turned off
     
  8. sparek-3

    sparek-3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Looks like my issue may have been resolved with the new Current that was released early this morning. Not sure what caused that issue, javascript was enabled and I tried it on a different computer, and kept getting the same results.

    Never-the-less all is back to normal now. Might have been related to some 404 errors I was getting when updating cPanel.
     

Share This Page