Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Usage with CentOS 4?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mojoservers, Mar 17, 2005.

  1. mojoservers

    mojoservers Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hi,
    Wondering if anybody has used cPanel with CENTOS 4 ?

    We've used 3.4, Fedora Core 2, but for our own hosting server we're looking at cent4

    Thanks again
     
  2. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Its not supported as yet, though i think it works semi-ok with SELinux disabled ( asside from an issue with exim, i believe ). I would probably hold off on using it for production however untill its officially supported, unless your happy to deal with the issues yourself. When it is supported, you'll see it listed on the cPanel web site: http://www.cpanel.net/index.html
     
  3. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    we have 3 servers running cpanel and centos v4, 1 installed flawlessly, the other 2 did not go smooth, if you decide to run centos v4 and cpanel be prepared to have to adjust a lot of things.

    Exim will sometimes install fine and sometimes you will have to do a forced rpm install of exim for FC3.

    bind ,mysql will require some adjustment on permissions and so will the web roots if you run phpsuexec

    however once you make all the adjustments its stable and runs with very low overhead
     
  4. mojoservers

    mojoservers Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hi,
    Yea, selinux disabled. I'll give it a shot, and hopefully it'll turn out alright :)
     
  5. StevenC

    StevenC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    if you turn off selinux everything works right off the bat execpt for exim.
     
Loading...

Share This Page