The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

use cPanels username & password for authentication

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by Thaeke.com, Aug 1, 2004.

1. Thaeke.com

Thaeke.com Member

Hello, I'm new to cPanel but I think it's great so far. Now I have a question which I can't find an answer to in the searchpart of this forum.

I want to create a password protected area on my site where users can get extra information. I have allready found a nice phpscript to use and it works fine with mysql. The only problem is that my customers now have 2 passwords, one for cPanel and one for their userpage. Is it possible to use cPanels username and password for authentication on a loginpage? (I do not want to use password protected dirs on this)

2. linux-image

linux-image Well-Known Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    the username and password for the C-panel authentication is stored in a filenamed /etc/shadow encrypted with md5.

it depends on which encryption your php script is using. Moreover the php script must be using a database to store the password. If you can synchronize the password in this database with the /etc/shadow file and maintain the md5 encryption; you are done.

3. Ramsy

Ramsy Guest

How would you go about implementing this in a script ?

4. lamp

lamp Well-Known Member

Did you ever figure out how to do this?

Thanks.

Lamp

5. Thaeke.com

Thaeke.com Member

I am stil searching for an answer to this question... :(

6. typhon

typhon Well-Known Member

these are md5'd and then crypted.

if you want to use the login and password from cpanel i describe how to access this in this thread: http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=29730

#6 typhon, Sep 21, 2004
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2004
  7. brianoz

brianoz Well-Known Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator