The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Use of Shares IP for Reseller DNS

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by asimriaz, Jul 1, 2003.

  1. asimriaz

    asimriaz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    Use of Shared IP Addresses for Reseller DNS

    Hi,

    I have 2 IPs setup for main domai (say maindomain.com), and another 2 for one reseller (say reseller1.com). I am trying to setup another reseller (say reseller2.com), so that I can share the later 2 IPs (which I am already using for reseller1) to setup name servers for reseller2.com.

    In simple words, how can I use 2 IPs to setup DNS for multiple resellers.

    I would appreciate any help.

    Thanks.

    :eek:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #1 asimriaz, Jul 1, 2003
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2003
  2. asimriaz

    asimriaz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    I Solved This

    Well, no one cared to reply. But I solved the problem anyway.

    You can use only 2 IPs with multiple reseller DNS. Assuming that you already have your main DNS setup.

    Say,

    Reseller Domain is dom1.com
    Your Primary DNS IP is 1.2.3.4
    Your Secondary DNS IP is 1.2.3.5

    Here is what you do:


    1) Register Reseller domain dom1.com at your registrar
    2) Register DNS at registrar with your DNS IPs.

    Example:
    ns1.dom1.com (1.2.3.4)
    ns2.dom1.com (1.2.3.5)

    3) Point DNS of dom1.com at your registrar to the new reseller DNS (which are ns1.dom1.com and ns2.dom1.com)

    4) Creat an account in WHM for domain dom1.com

    5) Give reseller privillages to dom1.com

    6) In WHM, under DNS Functions, click on "Edit DNS Zone" and select the domain name of reseller (dom1.com)

    7) On the next screen you will see a form type thingie with a whole bunch of fields. At the end ad 2 entries. like this.

    dom1.com NS (select this from drop down menu) ns1.dom1.com
    dom2.com NS (select this from drop down menu) ns2.dom1.com

    8) there is no step 8. Wait 24-48 hours, and thats it.

    Well, I don't know, if this is the right way to do it, but hey, it worked for me and I am using 2 IPs for 6 reseller DNS.

    Let me know, if it worked for you.

    Thanks Anyway.

    luvfinder.com

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #2 asimriaz, Jul 3, 2003
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2003
  3. Vinayak

    Vinayak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bharat
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have only these fields under my Dns Functions

    Park or Point a Domain
    List Parked Domains
    Add a DNS Zone
    Edit an MX Entry
    Delete a DNS Zone

    So what should I do. And I have only one NS.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. asimriaz

    asimriaz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    It looks like you have reseller WHM and not the Admin (TOP LEVEL) WHM. Do you own the server?

    69 Networks
    www.store69.com

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. Vinayak

    Vinayak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bharat
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ya I have reseller WHM and I don't own the server.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. asimriaz

    asimriaz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    Then you will have to ask the server owner to give you privillages to ad reseller DNS. If he does, then you will see "Edit DNS Zone" in your menu.

    Thanks

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page