The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

User able to addon domains that do not point to the server.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jols, Sep 2, 2009.

  1. jols

    jols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    We are currently running:
    cPanel 11.24.5-R38506 - WHM 11.24.2 - X 3.9
    REDHAT Enterprise 5.3 i686 standard on quasar

    I just discovered that there is a user on one of our servers that is able to add domains that do not direct traffic to the server, and yes, the following is NOT selected in WHM:

    Allow Creation of Parked/Addon Domains that resolve to other servers (i.e. domain transfers) [This can be a major security problem. If you must have it enabled, be sure to not allow users to park common internet domains.]

    How can this situation be corrected?
     
  2. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is this tweak setting enabled:

    Allow Creation of Parked/Addon Domains that are not registered
     
  3. jols

    jols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    No it's not. This was the first thing I checked.
     
  4. thewebhosting

    thewebhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Hi,

    If this tweak settings is disabled then it can not be possible to host the domain as add-on/parked which is not pointing to the server. However, you can check with trick:

    Enable that option host a add-on/parked a domain which is not pointing to the server and after that disable that tweak settings option. If this can work then it should be the case.
     
    #4 thewebhosting, Sep 4, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2009
Loading...

Share This Page