The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

user@domain FTP doesn't work

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rcttrainers, Nov 4, 2004.

  1. rcttrainers

    rcttrainers Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi, user@domain add on ftp accounts are not working on my server, is this a common problem? and how can I fix it? I have tried to fix by changing FTPds but the server doesn't detect any packages (well WHM doesn't) and tries to install everything from glibc to wget. Any ideas what is wrong?
     
  2. jester.ro

    jester.ro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    had the same problem after updating to latest edge. should have known better. i was always on stable/release, but now i saw the lastest change that fixed inbox.lock problems. and of course i still get inbox.lock's, but that's another story.


    first i tried to do a /scripts/upftp --force, (i was using proftpd), and it upgraded, and usernames with @ in them started to work. But 2day they stoped working again, "login incorrect" everytime. Probably had something to do with the upcp last night :)

    So i switched to pureftpd, and now seems to work again...dunno for how long tough :)
     
  3. rcttrainers

    rcttrainers Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    root@gothicangel [~]# /scripts/upftp --force
    -bash: /scripts/upftp: No such file or directory


    any ideas?

    EDIT:::
    was ftpup am running now thx
     
    #3 rcttrainers, Nov 4, 2004
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2004
  4. LA_fro

    LA_fro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    have you tried using user+domain? These are read the same by cpanel and also works with browser ftp's where @ does not.
     
  5. panayot

    panayot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I managed to fix this by switching to pure-ftp and then back to proftp

    Also make sure you have this in /etc/proftpd.conf

    AuthUserFile /etc/proftpd/passwd.vhosts

    You may also need to remove any vitrual hosts.
     
Loading...

Share This Page