Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

User Level phpmyadmin not loading

Discussion in 'Database Discussion' started by whipworks, May 14, 2018.

  1. whipworks

    whipworks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Lauren,

    Just wondering if you've encountered any issues about phpmyadmin not loading properly? We tried accessing it through CPanel on an Admin level. But User level (customers) can't seem to access it properly. It just hangs on "loading". This is different from the original post, but since it's still a php issue, I thought it might be a good idea to ask. Thank you :)
     
  2. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    2,756
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello, @whipworks

    The only instance in which I've seen this behavior is when the passwords aren't synced. Is there ever an error or does it just continuously spin?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. whipworks

    whipworks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Lauren,

    Thanks for the quick reply. Password is fine. We know this for a fact because what the user does is access the CPanel and go to phpmyadmin. User gets to the menu table and when you try to do something on it, like expand the options on the left side panel or even on any option on the top (Database, SQL, Status, Epoxt, etc.) it starts loading and hangs on loading.
     
  4. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    2,756
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @whipworks


    The issue with passwords is they can access their cPanel but it's not synced with MySQL but that typically gives an actual error output to the phpmyadmin UI.

    Can you confirm whether or not you're running PHP-FPM for cPanel Daemons? You can find this at WHM>>Service Configuration>>Service Manager and if it is running whether or not disabling it has any effect on the behavior you're seeing within phpmyadmin?

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. whipworks

    whipworks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Lauren,

    I'll be giving you the details once this issue with our license renewal gets resolved. We got the license renewed 2-3 days ago, but it seems to have not been activated properly. Can you point out the right department to contact in terms of this issue please? Thanks :)
     
  6. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    2,756
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. whipworks

    whipworks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Lauren,

    Resolved that licensing issue.

    I've checked and PHP-FPM is not enabled. Do I turn it on and try?
     
  8. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    2,756
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @whipworks

    To confirm you're looking at php-fpm for cPanel daemons right? If that's not enabled there's no need to enable it now. Do you see anything in /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log when attempting to access phpmyadmin as the user?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. whipworks

    whipworks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Lauren,

    This is the error that we get even after changing the password to access phpmyadmin via customers account

    [2018-05-17 11:48:34 -0400] warn [cpmysql] Error from MySQL query: (XID rdqseg) DBD::mysql::db do failed: The password hash doesn't have the expected format. Check if the correct password algorithm is being used with the PASSWORD() function. at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Mysql.pm line 1533.
    Cpanel::Mysql::_has_error_handler(Cpanel::Mysql=HASH(0x2504158), Cpanel::Exception::Database::Error=HASH(0x253f780)) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Mysql.pm line 650
    Cpanel::Mysql::_dbowner_to_all_without_ownership_checks(Cpanel::Mysql=HASH(0x2504158), "method", "GRANT", "users", HASH(0xe4ac68), "database", undef) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Mysql.pm line 598
    Cpanel::Mysql::_dbowner_to_all_with_ownership_checks(Cpanel::Mysql=HASH(0x2504158), "method", "GRANT", "users", HASH(0xe4ac68)) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Mysql.pm line 762
    Cpanel::Mysql::updateprivs(Cpanel::Mysql=HASH(0x2504158)) called at bin/admin/Cpanel/cpmysql.pl line 181

    set password for 'user_user'@'localhost' = password('password');

    Hope this is helpful
     
  10. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    2,756
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @whipworks


    Can you run the following for me and let me know what the output is? It sounds like the account may be using Old style MySQL passwords:

    Code:
     mysql -e "SHOW VARIABLES LIKE 'mysql_old_password';"
    or alternatively:

    Code:
    mysql -e "use mysql; select * from user;" | grep $username | grep old
    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. mathx

    mathx Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Toronto
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Im the tech working on this:

    Code:
    SHOW VARIABLES LIKE 'mysql_old_password';
    
    Empty set (0.00 sec)
    

    Code:
    localhost       user    23c2b0e968652116        N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N    N
            N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N                                       0       0       0       0       mysql_old_password      NULL    N
    company.net     user    23c2b0e968652116        N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N    N
            N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N                                       0       0       0       0       mysql_old_password      NULL    N
    10.5.6.7        user    23c2b0e968652116        N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N    N
            N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N       N                                       0       0       0       0       mysql_old_password      NULL    N
    
     
  12. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    2,756
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @mathx


    That last one shows the user is using Old style MySQL passwords in order to resolve this you're going to need to update them to use the newer password has MySQL uses. Something like the following might work:

    Code:
    UPDATE mysql.user SET plugin = 'mysql_native_password', Password = PASSWORD('XXXXXXX') WHERE (User, Host) = ('$username', 'localhost');
    UPDATE mysql.user SET plugin = 'mysql_native_password', Password = PASSWORD('XXXXXXX') WHERE (User, Host) = ('$username', 'IPAddresshere');
    UPDATE mysql.user SET plugin = 'mysql_native_password', Password = PASSWORD('XXXXXXX') WHERE (User, Host) = ('$username', 'host.tld');
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. mathx

    mathx Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Toronto
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Got this:


    [2018-05-18 11:04:34 -0400] warn [cpmysql] Error from MySQL query: (XID dh7xp8) DBD::mysql::db do failed: The password hash doesn't have the expected format. Check if the correct password algorithm is being used with the PASSWORD() function. at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Mysql.pm line 1533.
    Cpanel::Mysql::_has_error_handler(Cpanel::Mysql=HASH(0x26871a8), Cpanel::Exception::Database::Error=HASH(0x26c5078)) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Mysql.pm line 650
    Cpanel::Mysql::_dbowner_to_all_without_ownership_checks(Cpanel::Mysql=HASH(0x26871a8), "method", "GRANT", "users", HASH(0xe4ac68), "database", undef) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Mysql.pm line 598
    Cpanel::Mysql::_dbowner_to_all_with_ownership_checks(Cpanel::Mysql=HASH(0x26871a8), "method", "GRANT", "users", HASH(0xe4ac68)) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Mysql.pm line 762
    Cpanel::Mysql::updateprivs(Cpanel::Mysql=HASH(0x26871a8)) called at bin/admin/Cpanel/cpmysql.pl line 181
    [2018-05-18 11:04:34 -0400] warn [cpmysql] The system could not perform âGRANTâ statements for the user âusernameâ due to errors: (XID wrtf2u) DBD::mysql::db do failed: The password hash doesn't have the expected format. Check if the correct password algorithm is being used with the PASSWORD() function.
     
  14. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    2,756
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello @mathx

    Where are you running that? Can you be sure to run it through the MySQL CLI?


    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. mathx

    mathx Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Toronto
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    That's in the error log after trying to login to phpmyadmin as the user again after resetting their password per your instructions. It just spins on the web interface when any of the databases in the dropdown in phpmyadmin are clicked and that error is added to the logfile.

    Logging into mysql from the cli manually as the user with their password works just fine. Just phpmyadmin doenst work.
     
  16. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    2,756
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @mathx

    Can you please open a ticket using the link in my signature? Once open please reply with the Ticket ID here so that we can update this thread with the resolution once the ticket is resolved.


    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. whipworks

    whipworks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Lauren,

    Ticket has been created. Please keep us posted.

    Thank you!
     
  18. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    2,756
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @whipworks


    Can you confirm this is the correct ticket ID? 9629237

    If so I will definitely update you as to the status of this as soon as I have more information
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice