The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

User unable to use FrontPage as of a month ago

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by kenel, Dec 21, 2006.

  1. kenel

    kenel Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello everyone,

    I'm using the latest CURRENT build of CPanel/WHM, and just recieved an angry letter from a customer that his FrontPage hasn't been working for the past month or so. It just won't connect. I've tried removing it manually, downgrading it using /scripts/downgradefp , and a lot of other possible "solutions" I found on this message board. Nothing has worked so far. He said he was using FrontPage/Office 12.

    Now he sends me a mail to a directory on his domain, that - I'm unclear whether or not it was created with frontpage because he's yet to respond - gives a 403 error when you go to it. Tailing the Apache log provides the following:

    [Thu Dec 21 23:54:24 2006] [crit] [client 68.255.96.15] (13)Permission denied: /home/chupacab/public_html/ryanuhill/.htaccess pcfg_openfile: unable to check htaccess file, ensure it is readable

    (I've created a .htaccess file there, CHMOD'd it, and it's still giving that error).

    I'm just downright confused. How can I get CPanel and FrontPage to play along together?

    Thanks.
     
  2. hicom

    hicom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What are the permissions and ownership on that .htaccess file ?

    also, is the /home/user/ directory have the proper permission and ownership. Make sure all sections of his website have the proper ownership user:user or user:nobody
     
  3. jrf

    jrf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have all but given up on Front Page. I have about 10 customers now that can not use Front Page. The problem started about 3-4 months ago. I have all the latest builds and so forth. What is so frustrating is that some users can use Front Page without a problem, and other can not not. I have not been able to track this back to one specific problem, although everyone that can not use Front Page has the same problm; it appears timeouts prevent Front Page from connecting. Some of them can not connect to start with others can transfer 3-5 files and then timeout.

    MS says it is ending Front Page support and has released a replacement program. I can not remember the name of the new program. It has a built in transfer system more like dream weaver so server side software is not required. I read about this in a magazine and have not been able to find a copy of the new software to buy.

    Any one have any suggestions to any of this?
     
  4. kenel

    kenel Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've tried several thigns I found on this board, and the permissions were set correctly on the public_html. I was just tailing apache's error_log, and I found this:

    [Sun Dec 24 13:25:15 2006] [error] [client XXXXXXX] Premature end of script headers: /usr/local/frontpage/version5.0/apache-fp/_vti_bin/fpexe

    Could this be part of it?

    (XXXXXX replaced IPs)
     
  5. hicom

    hicom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Likely, check there are no mod_security rules breaking FrontPage (seen that before).

    Also make sure FrontPage installed properly, when you install or uninstall FrontPage Extensions on a site, are you seeing any errors in apache logs or somewhere else.

    Tamouh
     
  6. kenel

    kenel Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not seeing any strange apache log errors. I use the default rules set in mod_sec from CPanel:

    Customer is using frontpage 2003. I'm using WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.9.0-C117.

    This is so frustrating!
     
  7. jrf

    jrf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yep, it is strange as I do not see any errors either. The problems my customers get is due to time outs, at least that is how it appears. I wonder if a windows update on their PCs caused the problem as not all of my customers have this problem. One customer started having the problem when they purchased a new PC and installed FP on it. However they do not have the old PC to go back and try it from, but I sort of think the old PC might work fine. Then again, this could be an internal FTP issue...
     
  8. Silver_2000

    Silver_2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    frontpage was EOL about 6 months ago
    Its not been updated or secured against expoits since then
    Frontpage and Htaccess are mutually explusive

    If I were you I would recomplie apache without the frontpage extensions

    That way you dont get exploited like so many have
    users can still publish with FTP
    Doug
     
  9. kenel

    kenel Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you for the suggestion, but I don't feel like telling my customer "f*** you".

     
  10. Silver_2000

    Silver_2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    You are free to view the advice however you see fit

    However while thinking bad things about me - do a search for frontpage exploits
    They have been OWNED big time - If you choose to expose your server to these - against the advice of Microsoft then I wish you luck staying under the radar
     
Loading...

Share This Page