The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

user ~~~ using memory

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MK Hosting, Jul 20, 2006.

  1. MK Hosting

    MK Hosting Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK, Milton Keynes
    Hi,

    In my CPU/Memory/MySQL Usage its showing a user ~~~ as using memory. But as far as I am aware I have no user with the user name ~~~. Anyone got any ideas about this?

    Thanks.
     
  2. jsnape

    jsnape Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I would start here
    http://www.computerhope.com/unix/userdel.htm

    Then:

    chattr +i /etc/passwd

    may buy you a few minutes to do

    This:


    wget http://downloads.rootkit.nl/rkhunter-1.1.9.tar.gz;tar -zxvf rkhunter-1.1.9.tar.gz;cd rkhunter;sh installer.sh;rkhunter -c


    Then do this:

    wget ftp://ftp.pangeia.com.br/pub/seg/pac/chkrootkit.tar.gz;tar xvzf chkrootkit.tar.gz;cd chkrootkit*;make sense;./chkrootkit

    Just my 2 cents, and worth each penny.
     
    #2 jsnape, Jul 20, 2006
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2006
  3. MK Hosting

    MK Hosting Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK, Milton Keynes
    Thanks for the advice.

    I followed the first step, but it said the user did not exist. So if they don't exist how could they show in WHM for using memory.

    Anyway the other two both say I am fine except for SSH.

    Thanks.
     
  4. MK Hosting

    MK Hosting Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK, Milton Keynes
    Ok,

    Now I cant create any new users in WHM. Anyone got any ideas how I can fix this?
     
  5. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    The command chattr +i /etc/passwd would prevent any changes to /etc/passwd.

    You'd need to reverse this change for things to work again, althought to be honest I'm not sure exactly how. Perhaps chattr -i /etc/passwd?

    man chattr will give you the manual page for the command and you should be able to figure things out from there.
     
  6. MK Hosting

    MK Hosting Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK, Milton Keynes
    chattr -i /etc/passwd

    Fixed it.

    Thanks, Much appreciated.
     
Loading...

Share This Page