Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

User with an IPV6 IP can't load website

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by WorkinOnIt, Jan 25, 2018.

Tags:
  1. WorkinOnIt

    WorkinOnIt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello

    Can't seem to find any answers for this when googling or on the search forum here.

    A user contacted my saying they are having trouble loading their website from our server.

    I have checked their site and our server and everything appears normal.

    I asked them to provide me with their IP so I can check if they are blocked in CSF - they replied with an IPV6 IP address - I assume their broadband supplier has provided them with that.

    So - Question:

    Does IPV6 need to be enabled on the server? For example, do I need to add AAAA records to the site's domain DNS record?

    Does having an IPV6 IP address from a network provider cause any issues when accessing the site ? They are not accessing the server or cpanel account - just the website!

    Further, what is the best way to check if this specific IPV6 is being blocked?
     
    #1 WorkinOnIt, Jan 25, 2018
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2018
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    41,484
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    You shouldn't need to enable IPv6 on the server or configure a IPv6 record for an account in order to allow visitors with IPv6 addresses to access the websites hosted on the server. The first step would be to search your CSF logs for the IPv6 address to see if it is in-fact blocked by the firewall.

    Thank you.
     
  3. CreatureWeb

    CreatureWeb Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Orlando
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm having the exact same issue with 2 users. Any update on if you were able to resolve this?
     
  4. WorkinOnIt

    WorkinOnIt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I discovered the client actually did have an IPV4 address when I asked them to check "whatsmydns" website.

    Then I checked that on CSF firewall and it was blocked due to an incorrect mail setting that was spamming my server.

    Hope that helps.
     
  5. web-project

    web-project Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    58
    You need to have IPv6 enabled on server in order access your server by IPv6 addresses as if you do setup AAAA records, therefore the DNS will pickup IPv6 address of the server, if you don’t setup anything you don’t get access purely on IPv6 and therefore you do mislead with your reply!

    The cPanel also support dedicated IPv6 per cPanel account, still need to setup network settings in order to have correct functions.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    41,484
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    That's correct, you must enable and configure IPv6 on the cPanel server if you want your website visitors to access the domain name or service over the IPv6 address. As I understand, the original poster was asking about accessing an IPv4 address from a computer/connection with an IPv6 address assigned by their ISP.

    Thank you.
     
  7. WorkinOnIt

    WorkinOnIt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sorry - but now I am confused! My original question was this:

    Does IPV6 need to be enabled on the server, to allow visitors to be able to browse websites on the server if the visitor is using an IPV6 Ip address. In other words, a user has been given an IPV6 address by their broadband network and they visit e.g. somedomain.com which is hosted on my server.

    In your first reply you stated:

    Now in your most recent quote:

    So which is correct?

    Please clarify what you mean by website visitors - are you referring to cpanel users, or do you mean general visitors browsing a website that's hosted on my server?

    I simply want to ensure that all internet users can access the websites hosted on my server, whether they use IPV4 or IPV6. At the moment I have not set up IPV6 on my server - but I thought this wouldn't be an issue for 99% of my cpanel users.

    Thanks
     
  8. rangka_kacang

    rangka_kacang Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Malaysia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello.

    I'm suspecting an error in your network configuration rather than a cPanel/WHM issue.

    Any ISP should be able to provide a valid IPv4 connection by default as a fallback to IPv6 connection. It's really weird if they provide only the later.

    You can try the following to troubleshoot the issue.

    You customers should be able to ping your server's IPv4. If they have an IPv6 connection only, ask them to ping your server's IPv6 and see if they can get through, otherwise:

    1. It's either your firewall is blocking them or vice versa. If there is nothing wrong with your firewall,

    2. You might want to check if your IPv6 gateway is working via ping6 ipv6.google.com and your server IPv6 is properly setup.

    By now, you should be able to solve 2 problems.

    If they can't get a ping from your server's IPv6 (which I just read from your last reply saying you have not setup IPv6), make sure to:

    1. Enable "Listen to IPv6" on your WHM configuration.

    2. Add an AAAA record to your server's domain and make sure this IPv6 is valid within the range given by your upstream provider.

    Further troubleshooting can be done from your /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0 or /etc/sysconfig/network file if needed. If you are not using DHCP (or through router discovery), make sure you have these settings and restart your network service:

    ~~~
    IPV6INIT=yes
    IPV6ADDR=?
    IPV6_DEFAULTGW=?
    IPV6_FAILURE_FATAL=no
    ~~~

    Let me know if you are still having the problem. I may not be right but at lease it can be a clue to solve your problem.

    Thank you.
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    41,484
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    No, IPv6 should not have to be enabled on the system for those visitors to access your website. I was attempting to clarify the other poster's additional information in my last response.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page