Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

username charecter limit

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bgrana, Jul 16, 2003.

  1. bgrana

    bgrana Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    Brazil
    username character limit

    Is it possible to create usernames with more then 8 characters???
    I'm migrating from an ensim box that have many usernames with more then 8 characters....
    thanks for any help!!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #1 bgrana, Jul 16, 2003
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2003
  2. creos

    creos Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Add

    $ENV{'LONGUSERS'} = 1;

    to the top of your /scripts/wwwact file and it will work fine.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. bgrana

    bgrana Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    Brazil
    I tried that before, but for some reason the quota of this account is always set to unlimited. I tried to change the quota but it doesn't change. It only works normal when the username has less then 8 characters... :(
    Also this only work for creating an account, if you want to edit the username it still wont let you because of the character limit.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. creos

    creos Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Hmm..

    i'm using the latest 7.x build and my quota has been completely messed up for some time (shows unlimited for everyone.. disk usage under control panels don't work..etc)

    sigh

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice