The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

username/password not working after password protect directory via cpanel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by syrinx2112, Jun 2, 2008.

1. syrinx2112

syrinx2112 Member

Hello,

I am new to cpanel, I switched over from ENSIM...

I have protected /home/myusername/public_html directory using the Password Protect Directory utility in Cpanel.

Before I did that, I created a user and password in the Password Protect Utility...

So what I did was:

1. Create User Name and Password inside the Password Protect Directory utility in Cpanel.
    2. I then chose the directory I wanted to protect which is the public_html directory. The reason I want to do this is that we are not ready to go live yet, so we basically don't want visitors viewing the site, yet...
    3. After I choose the directory I want to protect which is /public_html in Password Protect Directory utility inside Cpanel - I then SAVE
    4. I then open up another browser (FireFox and IE), and I go to the site (by typing www.mysite.com), I am prompted to enter my user name and password. I put in what I stated in bullet 1 above.

But it doesn't let me in. What am I doing wrong?

I have read - and seen the demo to do this and I am confident I am doing everything right.

Maybe I am not suppose to PW protect the /public_html directory???

Any ideas from anybody who has experienced this before?

Thank you in advance...

2. Infopro

Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You could try making sure of no typos, and be sure you ticked the correct directory of course. You absolutely can pass protect public_html.

If you are not the owner of the server you might try contacting your host for a closer look as to whats wrong.

3. syrinx2112