The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

username_logs@domain.com shows all domain logs?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by JustinK, Sep 8, 2002.

  1. JustinK

    JustinK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I decided to login to username_logs@domain.com 's ftp account today and noticed instead of showing just the logs for that account, it showed logs for every domain on the server there. Is there a way to have it show just the domain's logs or disable it altogether?
     
  2. DanielJarrett

    DanielJarrett Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Noticed that too... Not very secure at all :(
     
  3. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
    I believe this is safe to do, but it will hide [b:eb4a0efbb8]all[/b:eb4a0efbb8] logs:

    In proftpd.conf, add this block (for example after the &group proftpd& line):

    &Directory /&
    HideGroup wheel
    HideUser root
    &/Directory&

    then restart proftpd.
     
  4. Brad

    Brad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yikes!

    This should be a bug..
     
  5. masood

    masood Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Has anyone reported this [b:63be317cc7]bug[/b:63be317cc7]? :p
     
  6. TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE

    TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have tested this and the directory is empty

    -Ed
     
  7. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
    Have you tested with an IP based account or with a named based account?

    There's something about this already in bugzilla:
    http://web.cpanel.net/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=769
     
Loading...

Share This Page