The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

usernames with test in it

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by WebHostPro, Feb 8, 2006.

  1. WebHostPro

    WebHostPro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I am trying to move a account server to server but when trying to recreate the account is says you cannot use test in the username.

    How can I bypass this or is there any other ideas for restoring this domain?

    Thank you,

    Charles
     
  2. WebHostPro

    WebHostPro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    O.k. it would be best to just bypass the username block and allow test to be used in the username for this server.

    Anyone know how to do this, how to bypass cpanels block on using test in the username?

    Thanks,
     
  3. elleryjh

    elleryjh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    DISCLAIMER: I'm not sure why test* is reserved. I know it wasn't reserved in older versions. I think it might have something to do with mysql permissions. Use at your own risk.

    To allow accounts with test at the beginning of the username:
    edit /scripts/wwwacct

    Line 367:

    Comment out these lines:

    if ($user =~ /^test/) {
    cPScript::Errors::deaderror("Sorry, test* is a reserved username");
    }


    It's perl, so you have to put # at the beginning of each line.

    Also the script may be reverted when cpanel is updated, so if you wanted to keep it like that, you would have to
    chattr +i /scripts/wwwacct
     
    #3 elleryjh, Feb 8, 2006
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2006
  4. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    343
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    or use my watchwwwacct script ;)
     
  5. 24x7team

    24x7team Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    really tough to find
    OR change the username on the old server, move it and the reset the username again
     
Loading...

Share This Page