The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Users Can't Connect: Need Pro Help! ! !

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Hines, Jul 20, 2010.

  1. Hines

    Hines Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I keep getting emails from people saying they cannot connect to my site or one of its subdomains.

    They get errors like: "Sorry the website 'www.(sub).domainname' cannot be found."

    I had similar problems in the past and discussed them at these threads:

    http://forums.cpanel.net/f34/weirdest-ip-block-155277.html

    http://forums.cpanel.net/f5/sub-domain-discrimination-154997.html

    I usually have to tell each person to modify their local Windows "hosts" file to let them gain access to the site. This seems to work. But gosh....WHAT IS CAUSING THIS?!

    It's driving me nuts. I know it's probably a DNS issue and probably just a simple click on an option in cPanel.

    Any suggestions guys?

    (I'm running cpanel and WHM on a virtual server (virtuozzo).)

    Thanx in advance.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,453
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You shouldn't have to ask anyone to edit their hosts file. Not sure what the problem was originally, but according to this page /http://www.intodns.com/ (typing in your domain name) there are no issues I can see that would cause that sort of problem.

    Could it be that it was just a matter of domain name propagation? Not sure, but the site works now as expected for me.

    Sorry I can't help more than that. I don't see a problem.
     
  3. Hines

    Hines Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Again Infopro, thanx for the reply. :)

    Yes, it is a complete mystery to me. But everytime they modify their Host file they get immediate access to the link they couldn't reach. This is happening primarily with them trying to connect to my subdomains. So it stumps me, as well.

    The link you provided is awesome. I did see 1 yellow item: "WARNING: Not all of your nameservers are in different subnets." Is that a serious issue to be concerned about, in general?
     
  4. madaboutlinux

    madaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    That warning message isn't an issue. BTW, what is your domain name and the sub-domains? People here can browse them and see if they have any problems accessing them.
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,453
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:

    No not really. In a perfect world you should have that taken care of but you'll be fine either way. Those users that are having issues might want to make sure they've scanned their PCs for issues locally, IMHO.

    @madaboutlinux I saw no need to post the links to the site in question. Working as expected.
     
Loading...

Share This Page