Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Using a Secondary Hard Drive on a Dedicated Server

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Rawand Bradosty, Feb 25, 2019.

  1. Rawand Bradosty

    Rawand Bradosty Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Erbil
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    i have a dedicated server ( CentOS7 ) with 2 X 1 TB SATA SSD + 2 X
    10 TB SATA Enterprise Hard Drive ( total 4 drives ) i am hosting 1 website on primary drive 1TB , I plan to add a new website/domain to the server and I want to set it on different disk drive because i don't want primary SSD to become full, when i run fdisk -l command i get this :-

    Code:
    [root@cpc ~]# fdisk -l
    
    Disk /dev/sdc: 10000.8 GB, 10000831348736 bytes, 19532873728 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 4096 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 4096 bytes / 4096 bytes
    Disk label type: dos
    Disk identifier: 0xa5abc798
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sdc1            2048     8390655     4194304   fd  Linux raid autodetect
    /dev/sdc2         8390656     9439231      524288   fd  Linux raid autodetect
    /dev/sdc3         9439232  2000407215   995483992   fd  Linux raid autodetect
    
    Disk /dev/sda: 1024.2 GB, 1024209543168 bytes, 2000409264 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk label type: dos
    Disk identifier: 0xfedd3207
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1            2048     8390655     4194304   fd  Linux raid autodetect
    /dev/sda2         8390656     9439231      524288   fd  Linux raid autodetect
    /dev/sda3         9439232  2000407215   995483992   fd  Linux raid autodetect
    
    Disk /dev/sdb: 1024.2 GB, 1024209543168 bytes, 2000409264 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk label type: dos
    Disk identifier: 0xc967dd28
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sdb1            2048     8390655     4194304   fd  Linux raid autodetect
    /dev/sdb2         8390656     9439231      524288   fd  Linux raid autodetect
    /dev/sdb3         9439232  2000407215   995483992   fd  Linux raid autodetect
    
    Disk /dev/sdd: 10000.8 GB, 10000831348736 bytes, 19532873728 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 4096 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 4096 bytes / 4096 bytes
    Disk label type: dos
    Disk identifier: 0x12650dce
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sdd1            2048     8390655     4194304   fd  Linux raid autodetect
    /dev/sdd2         8390656     9439231      524288   fd  Linux raid autodetect
    /dev/sdd3         9439232  2000407215   995483992   fd  Linux raid autodetect
    
    Disk /dev/md0: 4290 MB, 4290772992 bytes, 8380416 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 4096 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 4096 bytes / 4096 bytes
    
    
    Disk /dev/md1: 536 MB, 536281088 bytes, 1047424 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 4096 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 4096 bytes / 4096 bytes
    
    
    Disk /dev/md2: 2038.5 GB, 2038482075648 bytes, 3981410304 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 4096 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 524288 bytes / 1048576 bytes
    i can see the all 4 drives are mounted but not sure the drives mounted in raid or not ! appreciate any help
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,009
    Likes Received:
    2,123
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Rawand Bradosty

    Rawand Bradosty Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Erbil
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello @cPanelLauren

    thanks for the Tutorial link , this partion tutorial is for disk backup what I am looking for is when I add new account/domain on WHM I want to set the new account partion to /home2/ on different disk instead of /home/ ,
    like i mentioned the reason i want to do is i don't want primary SSD to become full because the new account that will be added to the server uses/uploads large media video files
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,009
    Likes Received:
    2,123
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @Rawand Bradosty,

    The tutorial is intended for preparing a backup drive, but the information in the tutorial should also be useful for helping to determine how any disk or partition is configured.

    You can configure the default directory for new accounts with the following option in WHM >> Basic WebHost Manager® Setup:

    Enter the location where you wish for new users’ home directories to be created. By default all directories matching the "Home Directory Prefix" are checked for available disk space and the directory with the most free space will be used.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Rawand Bradosty

    Rawand Bradosty Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Erbil
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello @cPanelMichael

    thanks for your post reply, of course the information in the tutorial is useful

    right I know that I can can configure the default directory for new accounts but it will create the new directory on the same primary drive that currently being used on the server, i think i will contact my hosting provider to have them update disk configuration .

    thank you.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,009
    Likes Received:
    2,123
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @Rawand Bradosty,

    Let me know the outcome once your provider updates the disk/partition configuration.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice