The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Using a SSH Command to Connect Existing DBase User to Existing DBase?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tm2004, Sep 25, 2006.

  1. tm2004

    tm2004 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hey All...

    Trying to figure this out... want to work with a shell command (instead of using cPanel). Want to create a new database and add an existing dbase user to that Dbase all via Shell


    1. Create new Database
    # mysql
    # create database dom1_test1;

    ... WORKS


    2. Then want to Connect User dom1_user9 (already have it setup via cPanel with august66 as password) with ALL privileges to the Dbase above...

    # GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON dom1_test1 TO
    'dom1_user9'@'localhost' IDENTIFIED BY 'august66' WITH GRANT OPTION;

    ... DOES NOT WORK

    Have tried dozens of variations.. with no success.. Can anyone see what I am missing?
     
  2. maheshkasbe

    maheshkasbe Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Mysql grant

    Use this man You will get success,let me know if yes


    mysql>GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON dom1_test1
    TO dom1_user9@localhost IDENTIFIED BY "august66" WITH GRANT OPTION;


    mysql>grant insert,delete,update,select on dom1_test1.*
    to dom1_user8@localhost identified by "august66" ;


    Both are same.:rolleyes:
     
  3. tm2004

    tm2004 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the reply. Can't get it to work..

    Both commands respond with:

    Query OK, 0 rows affected (1.16 sec)

    but then cPanel still does NOT show the user connected to the dBase.. Driving me crazy! :rolleyes:
     
Loading...

Share This Page