The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

using and configuring horde webmail

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by JeandreJonker, Apr 8, 2012.

1. JeandreJonker

JeandreJonker Registered

Apr 8, 2012
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner

Let me start off by saying I'm quite new to this whole cpanel 'thing'. That it, I've recently secured a domain for myself and started playing around with some of the functionality of it. So please excuse me if some/all of the questions I'm asking are obvious/'silly'.

I ultimately would like to have a stable and useful webmail front-end for clients and myself to use. And would like this mail service to communicate with gmail so to enable the client to view mail received on my domain as well as that of his/her gmail account (if any).

I decided to go with horde's mail client as it gives quite nice functionality. My question is however, I'm running cpanel v11.32.2 (build 15) and it seems that horde comes pre-installed on my web-server. Is that correct? I tried installing horde manually but their wiki suggests I use PEAR to install the software. The only problem is i cant seem to find PEAR on my cpanel. Does it come standard with cpanel? Or is it a sort of 'value added service' that one should request by ones hosting provider? If not, How could I install/active PEAR as I imagine it makes life a lot easier when it comes to adding functionality to ones website.