The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Using backup feature to transfer files between hosts..

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ra[g]e, Sep 23, 2003.

  1. ra[g]e

    ra[g]e Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello, I'm thinking of moving hosts - I've a couple of webhosting accounts now with cPanel, what I would like to ask is that if its possible to just backup my files from one of them using the backup function, and upload it to another webhost with cPanel using the backup restore?

    Thanks.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. RobertOnTheAir

    RobertOnTheAir Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    You might need to make sure you have the same username... as some of the stuff in your backup folder may have stuff tied to a username in it. :)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. wwwhosts

    wwwhosts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NZ
    are you a reseller?

    if so your new host can move them for you.

    if it's your own machine
    this may possibly help
    change your DNS and setup the new machine first.

    make sure there is at least 50% free space in all the accounts. i.e. if 1 accounts quota is 100MB and they use less than 50MB it's ok, otherwise increase them

    when the dns starts to resolve then use whm's multi account copy.
     
    #3 wwwhosts, Sep 23, 2003
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2003
  4. ra[g]e

    ra[g]e Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    nah I'm just a normal webhost user using cPanel :) I currently have accounts with 3 webhosts that use cPanel... I was just wondering whether I could move my site using the backup feature :)

    I've a domain with DNS controls, so I use the 'Parked Domain' feature on cPanel... would it cause any problems to move my site this way? Thanks.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. wwwhosts

    wwwhosts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NZ
    none at all

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page