The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Using ipv6 over cpanel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by chandro, Mar 30, 2011.

  1. chandro

    chandro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    /home/chandro
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I get my first /48 for a server, i have installed the with the ipv6 ::2 and the ::1 is the gateway, ok i can ping and do traceroute.

    i add the first AAAA to a domain chandro.mx and appears to be working, i add to the httpd.conf "Listen [::]:80" then do a test

    IPv6 validation for chandro.mx
    Checking for AAAA DNS record
    2001:49f0:a042::2
    Checking for IPv6 web server
    Apache/2.2.17 (Unix) mod_ssl/2 ...


    my questions are:
    why get a /48 if can only add 1 address or is how to add the whole /64 or less to the server, its a cpanel dedicated server.

    entering via httpd
    http://[2001:49f0:a042::2]

    i get the cpanel default web site page.

    but watching my site i still looking the ipv4 on my Firefox plugin.

    if i remove the A zone from ipv6.chandro.mx (already added the AAAA) i can see the ipv6 but page is not accesible or not showing nothing.

    example Index of /
     
    #1 chandro, Mar 30, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2011
  2. chandro

    chandro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    /home/chandro
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    well, now:

    now i have added secondary ips to my server

    from ::1 to ::5 ( or more ) and all respond ping and traceroute...

    i edited httpd.conf to Listen [::]:80

    -----------------------
    IPv6 validation for ipv6.chandro.mx

    Checking for AAAA DNS record 2001:49f0:b042:1001::2
    Checking for IPv6 web server Apache/2.2.17 (Unix) mod_ssl/2 ...

    Congratulations, your website is IPv6 ready !
    -----------------------

    PS i can offer dedicated servers with ipv6 =)

    :)
     
  3. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    One of the features we need to implement before accommodating dual-stack is to allow a site to have multiple IP addresses. This is not something we currently support, but will be supported by the end of this calendar year: IPv6 Implementation Update - cPanel Inc.
     
  4. chandro

    chandro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    /home/chandro
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Since that post im using ipv6 on my server, with the virtualhost, adding the ipv6 address manually on the dns zones.

    :cool:
     
Loading...

Share This Page