Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Using other nameservers

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by pingo, Nov 21, 2002.

  1. pingo

    pingo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Is it possible in some way for domain.com to use other than its own nameservers? - I created domain.com in whm and gave it nameservers for another domain: ns1.otherdomain.com ns2.otherdomain.com. But when I went to godaddy to register the nameservers their field only accepts nameservers for the same domain.

    domain.com is already registered with nameservers ns1.domain.com ns2.domain.com at godaddy.

    My problem is use of to many IP's when using the domains own nameservers, so I would like to use a generic domain for that. Is it possible and if so, how could it be done in WHM?

    Thanks
    John
     
  2. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    You would need to go and register the new nameservers under the otherdomain.com.

    Meaning, goto the registrar of otherdomain.com and register the new nameservers there, this way they have the correct name you want.
     
  3. pingo

    pingo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    So if I register the nameservers for otherdomain.com at the registrar and gives those nameservers to domain.com in WHM it should work? - thanks for helping :) - Shouldn't domain.com also be made pointing to those nameservers at the registrar?

    John
     
  4. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    [quote:571d59d4b8][i:571d59d4b8]Originally posted by pingo[/i:571d59d4b8]

    So if I register the nameservers for otherdomain.com at the registrar and gives those nameservers to domain.com in WHM it should work? - thanks for helping :) - Shouldn't domain.com also be made pointing to those nameservers at the registrar?

    John[/quote:571d59d4b8]

    Shouldn't domain.com also be made pointing to those nameservers at the registrar?
    YES, but you cannot do this until the nameservers have been registered and the propogation has happened at the root servers.
     
  5. pingo

    pingo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Thanks alot.

    John
     
  6. pingo

    pingo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    It still doesn't work. I have:

    - made domain.com point to ns1/ns2.otherdomain.com
    at the registrar
    - the ns1/ns2.otherdomain.com nameservers have been
    registred at the registrar


    otherdomain.com has also been given reseller privileges in WHM. - I wondered if it's a problem that ns1.otherdomain.com uses the servers main IP?

    Also as for domain.com it has reseller privileges - I tried to use both the servers main IP and give it another IP but with no success.

    Can a reseller account be namebased or should it have its own IP?

    I just want to give reseller privileges to accounts without private nameservers - using a set of generic nameservers. Do you have any suggestions?

    John
     
  7. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I'm stuck on that one. I do not do a lot with reseller stuff so hopefully someelse in here can clarify that part for you.
     
  8. pingo

    pingo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Sorry for the hassle - I simply forgot to update the nameservers for domain.com -where is that crazy/nuts smiley ;) - arrghh!
     
Loading...

Share This Page