The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Using R1soft to bckup

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by jameshsi, Mar 14, 2009.

  1. jameshsi

    jameshsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi!
    Did u guys using r1soft to backup ur servers do u bakup the second hard drive ?
    I mean do u backup the /backup directory normally cpanel put daily backup to ?
    If u do backup that device too, will r1soft backup staill do that in incremental way ?
     
  2. nshreders

    nshreders Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    chicago, IL
    We use R1Soft and completely disable the nightly cpanel backups in it's entirety. No point in paying for a second HD or using extra space if you have R1Soft IMO.
     
  3. jameshsi

    jameshsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So, u have the MySQL backup using r1soft ?
     
  4. nshreders

    nshreders Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    chicago, IL
    Correct, I use the mysql and control panel modules, both work well. It is possible to write a nightly script to dump all mysql data to a backup dir and archive it, and just have R1soft copy that up, but if you are a shared hosting provider I would suggest the mysql module so the user can restore the DB's themselves.
     
  5. smoge

    smoge Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    You are mistaken I think - the R1Soft Cpanel integration does not allow restore of databases - only files, at this time, in R1Soft 2.0.x

    Smoge
     
  6. smoge

    smoge Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    clarify...

    does not allow restores of databases BY the USERS... only files.

    If you want to restore a database or table, an admin needs to do it.

    Smoge
     
  7. nshreders

    nshreders Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    chicago, IL
    R1Soft has a mysql module that will allow you to backup user DB's.
     
Loading...

Share This Page