The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Using remote mysql

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by AlexCl, Jul 29, 2013.

  1. AlexCl

    AlexCl Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I currently use a server with these specs:

    Intel Xeon X3440
    2x1.5 TB HDD + 1x 60 GB SSD ( for mysql )
    16 GB RAM
    100 mbps connectivity
    Cpanel

    As Mysql usage is growing and space is starting to get low, I was thinking of moving MySQL to a different server and using this server for /home only. The new server would have similar specs, just the drives would be 2x120 GB SSD or 2x240 SSD. What would the downside of using this setup be ? Would it take longer for websites using mysql to load ? Anything else ?

    Also, would I need Cpanel on the MySQL server?

    Thank you.
     
  2. MilesWeb

    MilesWeb Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    SAS/SSD drives for just MySQL is always a good option. Try getting the server in the same rack and connect the MySQL over a private network. This will minimize the latency when connecting the remote database. I don't just for MySQL you need a cPanel. If you wish to manage the MySQL users, use phpMyadmin good to go with cPanel.
     
  3. AlexCl

    AlexCl Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I do have another question: will the mysql DBs be backed up when backup runs on the cPanel server ?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    cPanel is not required on the remote MySQL server. You can find documentation on setting it up at:

    Setup Remote MySQL Server

    The "Per Account" MySQL database backups will continue when using a remote MySQL server provided the databases were created in cPanel. I recommend testing a backup generation after setting up the remote MySQL server to make sure it works as you intend it to.

    Thank you.
     
  5. AlexCl

    AlexCl Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Michael,

    Thank you very much for the information and link. I will do some testing as you suggested.

    Have a great day!
     
Loading...

Share This Page