The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

using the cPanel migration utility

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rockroy, Aug 21, 2009.

  1. rockroy

    rockroy Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My server is running ensim so I want to upgrade to cpanel, I'm moving to a new server to do this. I have a couple of new user type questions if anyone can help.

    The new server running cpanel will be in the same server farm as the current one. My server runs dns. I need to transfer about 50 sites over. I intend to use the site/server migration utility in cPanel to do the transfer.

    First question is, is that a good idea, does the site migration utilities in cpanel work well? Or do I need to do them one at a time by hand? Can the migration utilities be used when the other server is not running cpanel?

    Does the migration utility transfer all of the sites at once? Then I assume I go looking for path/code changes that need to be fixed.

    I assume won't be able test sites one at a time, I'll need to move them all, make them live, then fix all of the path/code changes at once. is that about right?
     
  2. Janak

    Janak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yes, cPanel migration script works fine without any issue. We use it many times. No, cPanel should be running on both the servers to do cPanel transfer.

    I would recommend to transfer one by one rather than all at once.

    Just transfer the domain. Check the functionality of domain on new server using temporary URL and if you find everything ok then just change DNS records in Old server and point them to new server.
     
  3. Kailash1

    Kailash1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    It is possible to transfer a domain from Ensim to cPanel. Currently cPanel supports transfer from following source server control panel:

    Source server cp:
    cPanel
    Plesk
    Ensim
    DirectAdmin
    Alab*anza

    Just transfer one account and test the functionality of the web site. If it works fine you can proceed to transfer other web site.
     
  4. Janak

    Janak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks Kailash1. I was not aware about this.
     
  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  6. cPanelJesse

    cPanelJesse Technical Analyst Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We can definitely take care of the migration for you, and it's pretty seamless from DirectAdmin as of lately there has been no issues with the migration process. Take a look at the above link that David provided, as it lets you know our exact process for every transfer.

    The Migration Team is available 24/7 via the Migration Hotline to answer any questions you may have about your transfer in progress as well.
     
Loading...

Share This Page