The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Using the FTP

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ClaudiaT, Jan 4, 2012.

1. ClaudiaT

ClaudiaT Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi, I am a web designer and I am going to be designing and uploading a template store for a customer who uses your cpanel.

I normally use an entirely different web hosting and ftp program and so I am totally new to this format.

All I need to know really, is how do I ftp files and graphics and htm pages online? When I go to the cpanel I dont see any FTP device and I dont see a File Manager. Can you please tell me, once I log in, where do I go to FTP everything online?

Also, if I wanted to just use my own desktop FTP program which is ws_ftp32 what would I put in for the information?

I tried putting in the configuration which includes,

Host Name: designforyourbudget.com
    Host Type: UNIX Standard
    User Name: (her user Name)
    Password: (her password)

but it didnt work.

Is the Host type wrong? and can I even use the ftp program I have or do I have to use the cpanel provided? if so how do I get to the ftp program?

Claudia

2. Infopro

Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    There is a File Manager in cPanel. Depending on how the account is setup it may be possible it's not available for this account though. If its there the title under the icon is File Manager.

If you've been given the main cPanel users login details, the account login details you posted should work fine. If this user has created an addon FTP account for you to have access to a directory, your login would be the username and domain name. For example: hername@thedomain.com

3. ClaudiaT

ClaudiaT Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner