The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Using WHM on Home Computer?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by peconi, Feb 2, 2008.

  1. peconi

    peconi Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi guys,

    I've been using cPanel on my production servers for a long time, but I decided I would like to use the cPanel on my home server as well - for testing purposes.

    How can this be accomplished with 1 dedicated IP from my ISP?

    I did install and configure everything. It seems that everything works just fine - except DNS?

    Namely, my domain names are not resolving correctly and when ever I go to a domain name whose account I setup on the server - I get the cPanel has been successfully installed message INSTEAD of the public_html directory listing for that domain?

    Any ideas what's going on? :)

    -- I should note:
    1) I registered myDomainName.com
    2) I registered the NS1.myDomainName.com (pointing it to my dedicated IP)
    3) In WHM I set this NS1 as the main name server.
    4) My WHM is behind a router so it's local IP is 192.168.0.249 (not the public IP) - does this create any issues?
     
    #1 peconi, Feb 2, 2008
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2008
  2. ToddShipway

    ToddShipway Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    The server will be setup on the local ip address and that is what dns will resolve to. The 192.168.*.* will not route across public interfaces which will keep it from working outside of your local network.
     
  3. peconi

    peconi Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the info.

    I actually use it in internal network mostly for domain.local types - so it works great for that :)

    P.
     
Loading...

Share This Page